VHS Capture

The place to go for any Windows-specific questions.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

alessandro

  • Posts: 13
  • Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2013 12:30 pm
  • Location: PADOVA

VHS Capture

PostTue Apr 09, 2013 10:33 pm

Hi, i have a question, i want to convert my old VHS to digital video, What product do you recommend?
Now i have a intensity USB3, but don't work with VHS.
Someone advised me to use a DVD recorder VHS and connect with intensity by HDMI...
What do you think about?
Thanks
Alessandro
Offline

Mike Squires

  • Posts: 800
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 4:58 pm

Re: VHS Capture

PostWed Apr 10, 2013 12:14 am

The Intensity Shuttle USB 3.0 should work with VHS just fine. Though, you'll more than likely need a TBC.
Offline

Adam Simmons

  • Posts: 2512
  • Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2013 4:21 pm
  • Location: UK

Re: VHS Capture

PostWed Apr 10, 2013 5:54 am

I'm assuming you tested a live capture like I suggested in your other thread? Did that work or give you black flashes as well? If a live capture from your camera (NOT from the tape) gives black flashes as well then it's a problem with the shuttle and the USB 3 controller. If the live capture worked then you need a timebase corrector (which would have been my suggestion in your other thread if you'd answered)
http://www.dvc.uk.com/
Offline

alessandro

  • Posts: 13
  • Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2013 12:30 pm
  • Location: PADOVA

Re: VHS Capture

PostWed Apr 10, 2013 6:58 am

Hi Adbar, i'm sorry, but i had an error with post. Sorry.
Yes the problem is with tape because with live capture it's all ok.
So can i do? if i change a tape with Panasonic DMR-EZ49V that have a hdmi out for you. do i solve my problem?
thank you
Alessandro
Offline

Adam Simmons

  • Posts: 2512
  • Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2013 4:21 pm
  • Location: UK

Re: VHS Capture

PostWed Apr 10, 2013 7:13 am

If the live capture works then you have dropouts/corruption on the tape, this might be fixed by using a timebase corrector although there's no guarantee of that
Last edited by Adam Simmons on Wed Apr 10, 2013 7:42 am, edited 1 time in total.
http://www.dvc.uk.com/
Offline

alessandro

  • Posts: 13
  • Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2013 12:30 pm
  • Location: PADOVA

Re: VHS Capture

PostWed Apr 10, 2013 7:36 am

OK, so i must to search a timebase corrector....
thank you very much Adbear for your help

Alessandro
Offline

Adam Simmons

  • Posts: 2512
  • Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2013 4:21 pm
  • Location: UK

Re: VHS Capture

PostWed Apr 10, 2013 7:42 am

Hope it works
http://www.dvc.uk.com/

Return to Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests