VHS Capture

Do you have questions about Desktop Video, Converters, Routers and Monitoring?
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

alessandro

  • Posts: 13
  • Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2013 12:30 pm
  • Location: PADOVA

VHS Capture

PostTue Apr 09, 2013 10:33 pm

Hi, i have a question, i want to convert my old VHS to digital video, What product do you recommend?
Now i have a intensity USB3, but don't work with VHS.
Someone advised me to use a DVD recorder VHS and connect with intensity by HDMI...
What do you think about?
Thanks
Alessandro
Offline

Mike Squires

  • Posts: 829
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 4:58 pm

Re: VHS Capture

PostWed Apr 10, 2013 12:14 am

The Intensity Shuttle USB 3.0 should work with VHS just fine. Though, you'll more than likely need a TBC.
Offline

Adam Simmons

  • Posts: 3525
  • Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2013 4:21 pm
  • Location: UK

Re: VHS Capture

PostWed Apr 10, 2013 5:54 am

I'm assuming you tested a live capture like I suggested in your other thread? Did that work or give you black flashes as well? If a live capture from your camera (NOT from the tape) gives black flashes as well then it's a problem with the shuttle and the USB 3 controller. If the live capture worked then you need a timebase corrector (which would have been my suggestion in your other thread if you'd answered)
DVC Built Clevo P771ZM Laptop, 4790K CPU, Geforce GTX 970M 6GB GPU, 256GB M.2 Primary, 1x 480GB SSD, 1x 2TB 5400RPM Video drives, external Blu-ray Optical

http://www.dvc.uk.com/
Offline

alessandro

  • Posts: 13
  • Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2013 12:30 pm
  • Location: PADOVA

Re: VHS Capture

PostWed Apr 10, 2013 6:58 am

Hi Adbar, i'm sorry, but i had an error with post. Sorry.
Yes the problem is with tape because with live capture it's all ok.
So can i do? if i change a tape with Panasonic DMR-EZ49V that have a hdmi out for you. do i solve my problem?
thank you
Alessandro
Offline

Adam Simmons

  • Posts: 3525
  • Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2013 4:21 pm
  • Location: UK

Re: VHS Capture

PostWed Apr 10, 2013 7:13 am

If the live capture works then you have dropouts/corruption on the tape, this might be fixed by using a timebase corrector although there's no guarantee of that
Last edited by Adam Simmons on Wed Apr 10, 2013 7:42 am, edited 1 time in total.
DVC Built Clevo P771ZM Laptop, 4790K CPU, Geforce GTX 970M 6GB GPU, 256GB M.2 Primary, 1x 480GB SSD, 1x 2TB 5400RPM Video drives, external Blu-ray Optical

http://www.dvc.uk.com/
Offline

alessandro

  • Posts: 13
  • Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2013 12:30 pm
  • Location: PADOVA

Re: VHS Capture

PostWed Apr 10, 2013 7:36 am

OK, so i must to search a timebase corrector....
thank you very much Adbear for your help

Alessandro
Offline

Adam Simmons

  • Posts: 3525
  • Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2013 4:21 pm
  • Location: UK

Re: VHS Capture

PostWed Apr 10, 2013 7:42 am

Hope it works
DVC Built Clevo P771ZM Laptop, 4790K CPU, Geforce GTX 970M 6GB GPU, 256GB M.2 Primary, 1x 480GB SSD, 1x 2TB 5400RPM Video drives, external Blu-ray Optical

http://www.dvc.uk.com/

Return to Post Production

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 10 guests