Import problems in Premiere Pro on PC

The place to go for any Windows-specific questions.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

lelle

  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2013 2:06 pm

Import problems in Premiere Pro on PC

PostThu Aug 29, 2013 2:18 pm

Hello

We recently purchased 4 Black Magic Hyperdeck Studio to be able to do harddrive recording but when we try and import .mov files in Premiere Pro on a PC we get no sounds. We have all codecs installed (we Think) but no progress.

Does anybody have a clue? This is an urgent matter due to a live broadcast on friday

Thanks in advance

Lelle
lelle@nitroz.se
Online

Adam Simmons

  • Posts: 2541
  • Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2013 4:21 pm
  • Location: UK

Re: Import problems in Premiere Pro on PC

PostThu Aug 29, 2013 2:35 pm

What version of Prem Pro and what version of Quicktime do you have installed?
http://www.dvc.uk.com/
Offline

lelle

  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2013 2:06 pm

Re: Import problems in Premiere Pro on PC

PostThu Aug 29, 2013 2:51 pm

Premiere Pro 4.0 and Quicktime Pro 7
Online

Adam Simmons

  • Posts: 2541
  • Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2013 4:21 pm
  • Location: UK

Re: Import problems in Premiere Pro on PC

PostThu Aug 29, 2013 3:19 pm

Premiere Pro CS4 probably doesn't support those files
http://www.dvc.uk.com/
Offline

lelle

  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2013 2:06 pm

Re: Import problems in Premiere Pro on PC

PostThu Aug 29, 2013 4:34 pm

You dont think so?

What about Premiere Pro 5.5 ? However I get another error saying that the file is damaged or not supported. Can it be a codec problem? What codec do I need if that is the case ?
Offline
User avatar

Liam Kennedy

  • Posts: 2087
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 5:52 am
  • Location: Pasadena, CA

Re: Import problems in Premiere Pro on PC

PostThu Aug 29, 2013 5:16 pm

What codec is your Hyperdeck configured to record in? DNxHD or Prores? If it is DNxHD you need to install the free AVID codec. If it is prores - then you should be able to play it using quicktime.

If you want to test something other than Premier Pro to try to view the video and check things out - install a trial version of Sony Vegas Pro.
ATEM 1/ME, TVS, Hyperdeck Studio, Fujitsu Lifebook NH751 USB3
Offline

lelle

  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2013 2:06 pm

Re: Import problems in Premiere Pro on PC

PostThu Aug 29, 2013 11:35 pm

DO you mean the free AVID AVI Codec? If yes, there was no difference. The movie plays in Quicktime but it lose sound when I import... I will try in Sony Vegas too. Thanks
Offline
User avatar

Liam Kennedy

  • Posts: 2087
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 5:52 am
  • Location: Pasadena, CA

Re: Import problems in Premiere Pro on PC

PostThu Aug 29, 2013 11:52 pm

No- I mean the AVID DNxHD Quicktime codecs - the Hyperdeck will record DNxHD to a MOV container if configured to do so.
Downloadable from here->
http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/en_U ... d/en423319

I asked several other questions too.

e.g. Please confirm if your Hyperdeck is configured for DNxHD or Prores (or the default of Uncompressed - which I doubt you are using).
ATEM 1/ME, TVS, Hyperdeck Studio, Fujitsu Lifebook NH751 USB3
Offline

lelle

  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2013 2:06 pm

Re: Import problems in Premiere Pro on PC

PostFri Aug 30, 2013 12:37 am

We have tried both but mostly Prores

Thanks for the link. I will try

Tommy
Offline
User avatar

Liam Kennedy

  • Posts: 2087
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 5:52 am
  • Location: Pasadena, CA

Re: Import problems in Premiere Pro on PC

PostFri Aug 30, 2013 12:56 am

OK. Well try Prores in Sony Vegas. That works great for me.
ATEM 1/ME, TVS, Hyperdeck Studio, Fujitsu Lifebook NH751 USB3
Offline

Miraeg

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2013 6:33 pm

Re: Import problems in Premiere Pro on PC

PostMon Oct 14, 2013 11:58 pm

Liam Kennedy wrote:No- I mean the AVID DNxHD Quicktime codecs - the Hyperdeck will record DNxHD to a MOV container if configured to do so.
Downloadable from here->

I asked several other questions too.

e.g. Please confirm if your Hyperdeck is configured for DNxHD or Prores (or the default of Uncompressed - which I doubt you are using).

thanks for the link
شركة تنظيف
شركة نقل اثاث
شركة نقل عفش بالرياض
vana

Return to Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 6 guests