How to get 12bit SDI monitoring for film project

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Tahir Moosa

  • Posts: 59
  • Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2013 5:26 am

How to get 12bit SDI monitoring for film project

PostMon Feb 03, 2014 2:29 pm

Hi there,

I am very confuse and tried to find out "CLEAR" answer but unfortunately not getting success.
We have a film project for grading which needs to be finally release on DCP as well as film prints.
System Specs,
Dual Boot system with two OS drives
Davinci Resolve Linux 10.1.1 with Davinci Control Pannel
Davinci Resolve Windows
Source: RED R3d RAW / Arri Alexa RAW
Boards: RED Rocket / Cubix / Decklink Extreme 4K
Monitor: FSI 50" monitor (Rec709 Calibirated, DCI complient)
Projector: Christie (2K/4K DCI Complaint)

I also came across with the answers on multiple internet on Resource / forums,

1) Low Budget Solution (Windows)
its can be done in Davinci Windows Version like working in REC709 space on REC709 Calibrated Monitor (Which we have) and use EasyDCP within the resolve and apply REC709 to DCI Lut and DCP, process is simple and straight.

2) Ideal Solution (Linux)
The ideal scenario is use the Davinci Resolve on Linux as "ONLY LINUX VERSION" is offer the 12bit RGB (P3) SDI monitoring and connect the output to calibrated projector and finish the project and render out appropriate format for DCP.

MY Queries
=======

I would like to go with the option 2 and work in Davinci Resolve on Linux, BUT.
I am unable to find the 12bit RGB or XYZ color space output/display option in Linux version of Davinci (only 8bit and 10bit options are there and everything is identical to the Windows/OSX versions) where as in BMD website clearly mentioned in comparison chart between Davinci Resolve Linux, Windows, Osx and Lite version features, for reference please attached screen shot as well as the link where you can find under "Realtime SDI Video Output to Grading Display" http://www.blackmagicdesign.com/product ... ve/compare

So please can anyone "CLARIFY" the rite process, options need to be select in Resolve, the lut need to be choose (in any) or are we missing in hardware here.
Step by step guide is very highly appreciated.

waiting impatiently for the rite guidance/solution.

BMD Technical support please reply.
Attachments
413057699.037541.jpg
Davinci Resolve Feature Comparison
413057699.037541.jpg (510.56 KiB) Viewed 3782 times
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 4649
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: How to get 12bit SDI monitoring for film project

PostFri Feb 21, 2014 10:10 pm

The 12 bit RGB XYZ display mode is only available on Linux systems that have been configured with dual Quadro 4000 cards with SDI output option. This is not a 4K solution.

If you need 4K 444RGB, a DVS Atomix card can be used, but only on Linux Resolve systems.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

Tahir Moosa

  • Posts: 59
  • Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2013 5:26 am

Re: How to get 12bit SDI monitoring for film project

PostSat Feb 22, 2014 7:30 am

Hi Dwaine,

Your reply is highly appreciated,

Please can you advice
1) which model of DVS Atomix we should get for 12bit RGB 444 workflow, there are 3 models, DVS Atomix HDMI, DVS Atomix LT with or wihth or without breakout box?

2) We are using Single Chassis and can we use 2 Quadro FX 5800 boards with SDI (we have these boards at the moment)?

We tried added 2 Quadro 5800 with SDI boards and found out in linux Davnci configuration utility have two option with SDI boards like 4GPU with SDI and 8 GPU with SDI, as soon as we select 4 GPU the option/entry of GUI chassis and Core Chassis gets activated with an IP.
It seems like the the linux requires 2 systems to connect with infinibands if we need to activate/select SDI boards?

Btw we also checked there is no new option activated in davinci application after SDI boards installation.
Please can you share any link or documentation regarding configuring 12bit RGB output, as i have gone through the entire manual and linux configuration guide but i did not find any guideline and help on this.

looking forward for your support.
Offline

Prince_07

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2014 5:04 am

Re: How to get 12bit SDI monitoring for film project

PostMon Feb 24, 2014 5:09 am

Nice post
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 4649
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: How to get 12bit SDI monitoring for film project

PostTue Feb 25, 2014 4:03 am

I was not correct about the DVS being a current 12 bit solution.

And the dual Quadro card solution has been deprecated, and is not an option.

Sorry for the confusion.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

Tahir Moosa

  • Posts: 59
  • Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2013 5:26 am

Re: How to get 12bit SDI monitoring for film project

PostTue Feb 25, 2014 8:15 am

Dwaine Maggart wrote:I was not correct about the DVS being a current 12 bit solution.

And the dual Quadro card solution has been deprecated, and is not an option.

Sorry for the confusion.


Dear Dwaine,

I am unable to understand now and to be honest disappointed that i am not getting the due support from BMD. I sent multiple emails (to the local dealer as well as the BMD direct support) and posting on BMD forums regarding the subject matter.

"Please let us know and share any document for the configuration to get the 12BitRGB (P3) output for Davinci Resolve on Linux"

its seems like a dead end to me, in other words there is no 12bitRGB (P3) out solution exist for Davinci resolve? please correct me if i am wrong?

Waiting impatiently for the reply
Offline

Juan Salvo

  • Posts: 257
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 4:22 am

Re: How to get 12bit SDI monitoring for film project

PostTue Feb 25, 2014 1:10 pm

Tahir wrote:
Dwaine Maggart wrote:I was not correct about the DVS being a current 12 bit solution.

And the dual Quadro card solution has been deprecated, and is not an option.

Sorry for the confusion.


Dear Dwaine,

I am unable to understand now and to be honest disappointed that i am not getting the due support from BMD. I sent multiple emails (to the local dealer as well as the BMD direct support) and posting on BMD forums regarding the subject matter.

"Please let us know and share any document for the configuration to get the 12BitRGB (P3) output for Davinci Resolve on Linux"

its seems like a dead end to me, in other words there is no 12bitRGB (P3) out solution exist for Davinci resolve? please correct me if i am wrong?

Waiting impatiently for the reply


Linux configurations can get quite complicated, it's worthwhile to consider hiring a var. I believe you're fixating quite a bit on one specific function which may not be desired or necessary.
Offline

Tahir Moosa

  • Posts: 59
  • Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2013 5:26 am

Re: How to get 12bit SDI monitoring for film project

PostTue Feb 25, 2014 1:33 pm

J_Salvo wrote:
Tahir wrote:
Dwaine Maggart wrote:I was not correct about the DVS being a current 12 bit solution.

And the dual Quadro card solution has been deprecated, and is not an option.

Sorry for the confusion.


Dear Dwaine,

I am unable to understand now and to be honest disappointed that i am not getting the due support from BMD. I sent multiple emails (to the local dealer as well as the BMD direct support) and posting on BMD forums regarding the subject matter.

"Please let us know and share any document for the configuration to get the 12BitRGB (P3) output for Davinci Resolve on Linux"

its seems like a dead end to me, in other words there is no 12bitRGB (P3) out solution exist for Davinci resolve? please correct me if i am wrong?

Waiting impatiently for the reply


Linux configurations can get quite complicated, it's worthwhile to consider hiring a var. I believe you're fixating quite a bit on one specific function which may not be desired or necessary.


Hi Juan,

Good to see you here,
As you said "Linux configurations can get quite complicated" but my point here is "But where is the configuration, is there any document or help", I am not talking about any "Open Source" kind of solution or forum.. I am talking to the manufacturer/developer of the product and mentioning features which i want to use, for that if i need to add on any hardware or software then i should get the detail and information about it i am not talking about any customized solution, am i?

You are also a great colorist and a technical expert please can you advice,
How can we work in 12Bit RGB (P3) with Davinci Resolve, connected with Barco/Christie Projector? Any advice or guidance please?

* Please note my client (who is also a technical guy and my investor as well) is dont want to compromise and want to have maximum color gamut (P3), So he ready to get the top of the line Barco2kP or Dolby monitor.
Offline

Juan Salvo

  • Posts: 257
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 4:22 am

Re: How to get 12bit SDI monitoring for film project

PostTue Feb 25, 2014 3:04 pm

How can we work in 12Bit RGB (P3) with Davinci Resolve, connected with Barco/Christie Projector?

The short answer is you don't. The longer answer is you don't need to.
Any advice or guidance please?

Hire a specialist with experience in this area to help you. Free advice on how to configure a VERY highend system is worth less than what you pay for it!

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Adam Newcombe, d.dragun, Google Feedfetcher, Heimo Fuchs, Johannes Hoffmann, Max Besser and 14 guests