Sample C++ code not working

Ask software engineering and SDK questions for developers working on Mac OS X, Windows or Linux.
  • Author

Rick Jansen

Sample C++ code not working

PostSun Jun 07, 2015 9:50 am

Dear,

I am new to the Blackmagic SDK so I tried the sample code in C++. All the projects are giving the message "A DeckLink iterator could not be created. The DeckLink drivers may not be installed.". When looking more into the code the message appears because the Iterator cannot be created. At the line:
result = CoCreateInstance(CLSID_CDeckLinkIterator, NULL, CLSCTX_ALL, IID_IDeckLinkIterator, (void**)&pDLIterator);

VS2010 is giving the message:
result = 0x80040154 Class not registered

CLSID_CDeckLinkIterator has an GUID
IID_IDeckLinkIterator has an GUID

Also when I tried to create a new project in VS2010, added the IDL, compiled it, added the .C file. It still not works. The Decklink driver are installed and working (tested via Directshow) Am I doing something wrong? Or did I missed something?

Matt Jefferson

Blackmagic Design

Re: Sample C++ code not working

PostThu Jun 25, 2015 6:23 pm

HI Rick

Just getting a chance to see if you had any success here with your application development. I saw no updates so wondering which version of desktop SDK you are using and which product.

We moved to VS2013 with release of 10.4 SDK so it is best to compile and test against it. Also, it always helps others on forum to know your basics like which product, which driver, (assume windows OS based on post), does any of the samples based on SDK work for you (recommend signal generator and capture preview) which are in the win samples bin folder under the Win OS SDK Folder.
Matt Jefferson

Rick Jansen

PostMon Aug 24, 2015 7:29 pm

Hi Matt,

A small add to my question. The C# example code is working fine on the same system.