InputLoopThrough example error

Ask software engineering and SDK questions for developers working on Mac OS X, Windows or Linux.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Sami Fattah

  • Posts: 20
  • Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2015 12:04 pm
  • Location: Edison NJ USA

InputLoopThrough example error

PostThu Dec 10, 2015 5:44 pm

Hi

I get the following error when I try to use InputLoopThrough example from the sdk ,

E_ACCESSDENIED General access denied error.

this happen when

// Turn on video output
theResult = m_pOutputCard->EnableVideoOutput(displayMode, bmdVideoOutputFlagDefault);
if (theResult != S_OK)
TRACE("EnableVideoOutput failed with result 0x%08x\n", theResult);

this only happen when I select the same device as input and output card

can you please help

Regards

Sami Fattah
sami fattah
Software engineering
Offline

Sami Fattah

  • Posts: 20
  • Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2015 12:04 pm
  • Location: Edison NJ USA

Re: InputLoopThrough example error

PostThu Dec 10, 2015 8:39 pm

Basically, this is what I am trying to achieve.

1. Let's assume that I have a capture board with 4 input and 4 output channels. (The Channels means the SDI input and output connections)
2. I would like to have 4 SDI captured, process the frames and then output the processed data to the output channels.


Do you have any samples that I can refer to?

I would like for the 4 input and 4 outputs process 4 jobs in the same time
sami fattah
Software engineering
Offline

Sami Fattah

  • Posts: 20
  • Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2015 12:04 pm
  • Location: Edison NJ USA

Re: InputLoopThrough example error

PostFri Dec 11, 2015 3:47 am

DeckLinkAPI version: 10.5.2
=============== DeckLink SDI ===============

Attribute list:
Serial port present ? No
Device Persistent ID: Not Supported on this device
Device Topological ID: 300600
Number of sub-devices: 4
Sub-device index: 0
Maximum number of audio channels: 8
Input mode detection supported ? Yes
Full duplex operation supported ? No
Internal keying supported ? Yes
External keying supported ? No
HD-mode keying supported ? No


As per the above log it says thats it does not support Full Duplex. Does this mean I cannot capture a video frame, process the frame and broadcast that to the output channel all on the same device.
and also, please explain what does this 8 ports means


I thought that Quad is fullduplex, meaning I should be able to capture, process and broadcast the video frame all in the same device.


If my assumtions are wrong, please let me know what I am doing wrong. If not let us know which cards I should be using.
sami fattah
Software engineering
Offline

Dave Johnstone

  • Posts: 223
  • Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2014 11:12 am
  • Location: Adelaide

Re: InputLoopThrough example error

PostFri Dec 11, 2015 10:54 am

Hi Sami,

As far as I know, only the newer cards with "4K" in the name are full duplex.

Regards,

Dave
Freelance Television Broadcast Engineer
and Software Programmer.
Offline

Sami Fattah

  • Posts: 20
  • Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2015 12:04 pm
  • Location: Edison NJ USA

Re: InputLoopThrough example error

PostFri Dec 11, 2015 2:21 pm

Hi Dave,

With the Decklink Quad card, can I do the following

1. Capture from the input SDI
2. Apply a logo
3. Send it to the output SDI
4. Do this for all the 4 inputs.


Thanks
sami fattah
Software engineering
Offline

Martin Kraus

  • Posts: 28
  • Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2014 10:00 am

Re: InputLoopThrough example error

PostFri Dec 11, 2015 8:38 pm

I don't think this would work. However, I'm pretty sure that you can apply a logo to 4 SD-SDI inputs and send them out to 4 SD-SDI outputs. That's called internal keying. As you can see on page 153 (Section 2.5.19.1) of the DeckLink SDK documentation, the DeckLink Quad supports internal keying in SD-SDI. The difference to what you were asking is that the input signals are not actually captured; i.e., the video data is not available to the computer. But maybe internal keying of 4 SD-SDI signals is all you need.

Best,
Martin

Sami Fattah wrote:Hi Dave,

With the Decklink Quad card, can I do the following

1. Capture from the input SDI
2. Apply a logo
3. Send it to the output SDI
4. Do this for all the 4 inputs.


Thanks
Offline

Dave Johnstone

  • Posts: 223
  • Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2014 11:12 am
  • Location: Adelaide

Re: InputLoopThrough example error

PostFri Dec 11, 2015 8:48 pm

Hi Sami,

If you just want to key a logo over pass-through video then yes, you can do that with the quad in SD. The specs on your card show:
Internal keying supported ? Yes
External keying supported ? No
HD-mode keying supported ? No


Regards,

Dave.
Freelance Television Broadcast Engineer
and Software Programmer.
Offline

Sami Fattah

  • Posts: 20
  • Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2015 12:04 pm
  • Location: Edison NJ USA

Re: InputLoopThrough example error

PostMon Dec 14, 2015 3:16 pm

hi


what im trying to do is ( all on the same time ( real time) )

1-Capture 4 streams from Rx0 ,Rx1 , Rx2 , Rx3 and store it in a 4 different buffers
2-do some processing on those buffers (Rx0 ,Rx1 , Rx2 , Rx3 )
3-send the processed Buffer * Result to ( Tx0 , Tx1 , Tx2 , Tx3 )

Regards

Sami Fattah
sami fattah
Software engineering
Offline

Dave Johnstone

  • Posts: 223
  • Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2014 11:12 am
  • Location: Adelaide

Re: InputLoopThrough example error

PostMon Dec 14, 2015 10:44 pm

Hi Sami,

Please clarify what processing you want to do. If you want to manipulate the incoming video then send it out you will need a full duplex card (or use 2x in and 2x out of the quad). If you just want to key a logo over the video (but not capture) you can. You cannot capture and output different video on the same channel at the same time without a duplex card.

Regards,

Dave.
Freelance Television Broadcast Engineer
and Software Programmer.
Offline

Chidu Ramanathan

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2015 2:04 pm

Re: InputLoopThrough example error

PostMon Dec 21, 2015 2:16 pm

Hi Dave,

We are working on getting a full duplex card and was suggested to use Quad 2 cards for our purpose. I have few doubts before I buy the new cards.

1. Can you give me a date when the Quad 2 card will be available in the market for purchase?
2. Is there any other card apart from Quad 2 which will have 4 or more input and output simultaneously.
3. As per the spec the Quad 2 card fits into x8 or 16 PCI Slot. Does this mean that I cannot have this card on x4 PCI-E slot and have limited bandwidth e.g. we dont have to have the entire 3G-SDI, we will be fine with just the HD-SDI
4. Can I have Quad and the new version of Quad 2 card on the same machine?
5. Is the SDK same for both the cards?


Thanks
-Chidu.
Offline

Matt Jefferson

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 130
  • Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2012 12:50 am

Re: InputLoopThrough example error

PostTue Dec 22, 2015 6:00 pm

Hello Chidu -
These are more sales questions and should be directed normally to your regional office which can be emailed form our company contact page on our website.

1 - No and it has not shipped yet and while planned Q4, it is not likely to ship before end of 2015. When we ship it, we announce in the forum and the twitter feed.
2 -No other Decklink does multi channel 4 in and out
3 - No it requires a Gen 2 PCIExpress x8 slot or larger. Any open ended slot of x4 with x8 bandwidth is not certified nor supported
4 - Yes with latest driver for Desktop video supporting Quad 2 and all other boards
5 - Yes

Return to Software Developers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 33 guests