Page 1 of 1

BMMSC: simultaneous zoom & focus possible?

PostPosted: Wed Feb 03, 2016 4:17 pm
by Daniel Binder
Hi everyone.

We are experimenting with a software to control the new Micro Studio Cam 4K.

Using the ATEM CCU (via SDI input), is it possible to make the camera to do several operations simultaneously? i.E. A slow zoom out and a change of focus at the same time?

For now, if we send more than one parameter change to the camera, it chooses one random one to execute and ignores the rest :) As a workaround we added a slight delay between sending the parameters, which works for most, but not for zoom. Basically what happens is, as long as the lens is still zooming (can take up to 2-3 seconds with the cheap olympus 12-50mm we are using for now) it will accept nothing else.

Is this a hardware limitation? Is there any way to implement this?
My guess would be the SetPeriodicFlushInterval or SetParamterPeriodicFlushInterval methods, but frankly, I have no clue about the functionality and the SDK documentation is not of much help here.

Any insight on the matter would be greatly appreciated. Thanks a lot.

Daniel

Re: BMMSC: simultaneous zoom & focus possible?

PostPosted: Sat Feb 06, 2016 9:58 am
by Xtreemtec
I think you can call this a hardware issue.. I'm working with the SDI data comming from an atem.. And data from focus zoom and other functions will be send all together in data blocks..

I think it is the lens manufacturer to blame that it can't handle both actions at the same time..

BMMSC: simultaneous zoom & focus possible?

PostPosted: Tue Sep 12, 2017 4:25 pm
by Mayank K Tyagi
Hi Everyone,

I'm working on a "Blackmagic Micro Studio 4K" cam and controlling it with arduino board using blackmagic 3G-SDI shield.
I'm unable to use its "Zoom" and "Aperture"command as mentioned in its datasheet.

//****************************************************//
//***********sends current zoom value to the cam***********//
//****************************************************//
void SetZoom (currentZoom)
{ currentZoom = constrain(currentZoom, 0.0, 1.0);
sdiCameraControl.writeCommandFixed16(
1, // Destination: Camera 1
0, // Category: Lens
8, // Param: Zoom (normalised)
0, // Operation: Set Absolute,
currentZoom // Values
);
}
//****************************************************//
//*********sends current Aperture value to the cam***********//
//****************************************************//
void SetAperture (currentAperture)
{ currentAperture= constrain(currentAperture, 0.0, 1.0);
sdiCameraControl.writeCommandFixed16(
1, // Destination: Camera 1
0, // Category: Lens
3, // Param: Aperture (normalised)
0, // Operation: Set Absolute,
currentApertureAdjust // Values
);
}
//****************************************************//


Lens i'm using is "Olympus M.Zuiko 14-42mm f3.5-5.6 II R Lens". Is this lens support digital zoom through 3G-SDI shield or I code it wrongly.

want some guidance..Thanks

Mayank (mak)