Frame Capture Stops in Capture Linux Sample code

Ask software engineering and SDK questions for developers working on Mac OS X, Windows or Linux.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Eric Lariviere

  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: Wed May 25, 2016 6:51 pm

Frame Capture Stops in Capture Linux Sample code

PostThu Feb 02, 2017 5:27 pm

Hi,

Usually, when we use the Linux Capture sample code on a Decklink Duo 2 card with nothing connected, the code executes completely and we see the output "Stopping Capture"

We have 2 cards where we get the following execution (I have added some outputs to know which step is failing):
Code: Select all
# ./Capture -d 1 -v /tmp/outputCaptureSDIVideo2.raw -a /tmp/outputCaptureSDIAudio2.pcm -n 250 -m 7
Create DeckLink Instance
Get the input (capture) interface of the DeckLink device
Get the display mode
Capturing with the following configuration:
 - Capture device: DeckLink Duo 2
 - Video mode: 1080i50
 - Pixel format: 8 bit YUV (4:2:2)
 - Audio channels: 2
 - Audio sample depth: 16 bit
Configure the capture callback
Open output files
Block main thread until signal occurs
Start capturing
Start synchronized video and audio capture
Frame received (#0) - No input signal detected
Frame received (#1) - No input signal detected
Frame received (#2) - No input signal detected
Frame received (#3) - No input signal detected
Frame received (#4) - No input signal detected



The execution just hangs there. We are trying to figure out if it is a card problem or if it's some kind of configuration issue or something else.

What could cause the Capture to just hang there?

Thanks in advance,

Eric
Offline

Eric Lariviere

  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: Wed May 25, 2016 6:51 pm

Re: Frame Capture Stops in Capture Linux Sample code

PostThu Feb 09, 2017 8:55 pm

For whoever is interested in our findings.

We are using Dell's PowerEdge R730 on Linux CentOS 7. We had servers that were working properly and 3 servers which didn't work.
We’ve narrowed it down to the CPU microcode version. We used an image of the functional server and put it in the non-functional server and it was still not working. We eventually realized the only difference was BIOS version.

So what does not work:
- CentOS v7.3
- Bios 2.2.5

What did work:
- CentOS v7.2
- Bios <2.2.5

Hope this can help for future revisions.
Offline

Younghee Lee

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 4:45 am

Re: Frame Capture Stops in Capture Linux Sample code

PostTue Feb 28, 2017 1:36 am

According to message from "Capture" sample code, DeckLink video input mode is 1080i50. So those kind of messages are mainly due to no video input connection with 1080i50. If video input connection other than 1080i50, then those messages are resulted.

...

In linux, when "Blackmagic Desktop Video Setup" program is running, the input and output mode such as 1080i50 are showed under each IO icons and updated in realtime.
Offline

Eric Lariviere

  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: Wed May 25, 2016 6:51 pm

Re: Frame Capture Stops in Capture Linux Sample code

PostTue Feb 28, 2017 5:19 pm

To be clear with the problem we had:

Usually, whether there is an input connected or not, we get the message:
"Frame received (#0) - ..."

Our problem is that we did not get any "Frame received" messages, and it was due to issues with the latest BIOS (2.2.5) of the PowerEdge R730 on CentOS 7.

If we revert to BIOS (2.1.6), the DeckLink Duo card works as expected.

Return to Software Developers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests