SDI-3G shield and URSA

Ask software engineering and SDK questions for developers working on Mac OS X, Windows or Linux.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

John Thorborg

  • Posts: 19
  • Joined: Mon May 18, 2015 1:28 pm
  • Location: the Netherlands

SDI-3G shield and URSA

PostWed Dec 05, 2018 9:04 pm

Hi,
Is it normal that the remote focus control via SDI on the URSA 4.6k EF (v4.8) does not work?
The command 0.0 works fine on my BMMSC but not on the URSA camera, most other commands seem to work (like 0.2 Aperture).
Is this normal behaviour?

Cheers,
John
Offline

Cameron Nichols

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 157
  • Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2017 4:05 am

Re: SDI-3G shield and URSA

PostFri Dec 07, 2018 5:40 am

Hi John,

Not sure why this would happen. Can you send through your full 0.0 command?

Regards
Cameron
Offline
User avatar

John Thorborg

  • Posts: 19
  • Joined: Mon May 18, 2015 1:28 pm
  • Location: the Netherlands

Re: SDI-3G shield and URSA

PostFri Dec 07, 2018 10:24 am

Hi Cameron,
Thanks for the reply.
This bit of code seems to work on a BMMSC on both focus and aperture but on a URSA only aperture works.
On my ATEM 1M/E 4K focus and aperture both work on both cameras.
Code: Select all
#include <BMDSDIControl.h>

const int                 shieldAddress = 0x62;
BMD_SDITallyControl_I2C   sdiTallyControl(shieldAddress);
BMD_SDICameraControl_I2C  sdiCameraControl(shieldAddress);

void setup() {
  Serial.begin(115200);

  sdiTallyControl.begin();
  sdiCameraControl.begin();

  Wire.setClock(400000);

  // Enable both tally and control overrides
  sdiTallyControl.setOverride(true);
  sdiCameraControl.setOverride(true);

  Serial.println("\n\nLet's go...");
}

void loop() {
  sdiTallyControl.setCameraTally(
    2,                   // Camera Number
    1,                   // Program Tally
    0                    // Preview Tally
  );

  delay(1000);

  sdiTallyControl.setCameraTally(
    2,                   // Camera Number
    0,                   // Program Tally
    1                    // Preview Tally
  );

  for (float Value = 0; Value < 1; Value += 0.05 ) {
 
    sdiCameraControl.writeCommandFixed16(
      2,                   // Camera Number
      0,                   // Lens
      0,                   // Focus
      0,                   // Index
      Value                // Value
    );
    Serial.println(Value, 3);
    delay(100);
  }

  for (float Value = 0.5; Value >= 0; Value -= 0.05 ) {
 
    sdiCameraControl.writeCommandFixed16(
      2,                   // Camera Number
      0,                   // Lens
      3,                   // Aperture
      0,                   // Index
      Value                // Value
    );
    Serial.println(Value, 3);
    delay(100);
  }
}

Kind regards,
-John
Offline

-Nick-

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2018 12:46 pm
  • Real Name: Niklas Paprotti

Re: SDI-3G shield and URSA

PostFri Dec 21, 2018 1:01 pm

Hi together,

I have the same issue with my URSA mini 4K EF.
I can only offset the focus via the sdi shield.

In Code:
Code: Select all
sdiCameraControl.writeCommandFixed16(
            1,
            0,
            0,
            0, //assign value
            0.15
            );

does nothing, but

Code: Select all
sdiCameraControl.writeCommandFixed16(
            1,
            0,
            0,
            1, //offset value
            0.15
            );

works fine.

I tested it several times with several lenses. I also tried:
Code: Select all
byte command1[]= {
            1,//destination
            6,//lenght
            0,//command
            0,//reserved
            0,//category
            0,//parameter
            128,//type
            0,//operation
            0x33,//15%=0.15f=0x0133fp
            0x01,
            0, 0,//padding
    };
    sdiCameraControl.write(command1, sizeof(command1));

but nothing happens.

Regards,
Nick

Return to Software Developers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests