How to control the Smart Videohub 40x40 over RS422 protocol

Ask software engineering and SDK questions for developers working on Mac OS X, Windows or Linux.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

truonghtv

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2019 1:58 am
  • Real Name: Nguyen Van Truong

How to control the Smart Videohub 40x40 over RS422 protocol

PostThu Apr 25, 2019 2:45 am

Hi,
My work is monitor the broadcast signal from the broadcast center for 6 channel, each channel have 2 sources: server main and backup. How do I do? I have to TAKE these sources to 1 OUTPUT (for monitoring) manually.
-->Idea: write a software running on a PC, connect to the Smart Videohub through RS422 port, every 5 minutes the PC send a command to tell the Smart Videohub to TAKE a source to Monitor (up to 12 sources for 6 channel). My work will easier, more simply.
Does anyone have done it before? Any ideas for the process? Please give me some advises. Which program should I code?
If you can do it, please tell me, I will pay for the software.
Many thanks!
BR,
Truong
Offline
User avatar

Xtreemtec

  • Posts: 5391
  • Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:48 am
  • Location: The Netherlands

Re: How to control the Smart Videohub 40x40 over RS422 proto

PostThu Apr 25, 2019 3:32 pm

The videohub can Be controlled from telnet by IP. So you could write a batch command that just sends the correct telnet command.

By 422 leitch xy protocol is implemented. So search for that protocol documentation and make something for that.
Daniel Wittenaar .:: Xtreemtec Media Productions ::. -= www.xtreemtec.nl =-
4K OBV Trailer, ATEM TVS HD, 4M/E Broadcast Studio 4K, Constelation 8K, Hyperdeck Studio 12G, Ursa Broadcast 4K, 4K fiber converters with Sony Control
Offline

Ian Morrish

  • Posts: 580
  • Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2015 9:24 pm
  • Location: New Zealand

Re: How to control the Smart Videohub 40x40 over RS422 proto

PostThu Apr 25, 2019 7:29 pm

If you have Windows 10, I have an exe you can try. Just let me know the monitor output port #, range of input #'s and hub IP address.

You can see another exe I created to document video hub configuration using Excel
Image
https://ianmorrish.wordpress.com/2017/11/11/document-blackmagic-videohub-with-powershell-and-excel/
Regards,
Ian Morrish
Video Integrated Scripting Environment
(Windows PowerShell with ATEM driver + more)
https://ianmorrish.wordpress.com
Offline

truonghtv

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2019 1:58 am
  • Real Name: Nguyen Van Truong

Re: How to control the Smart Videohub 40x40 over RS422 proto

PostWed May 01, 2019 3:46 am

Dear Ian,
Thanks so much for your information.
Attached is the information for you to modify the code, I really appreciated your help.

Thank you in advances
Best Regards,
Truong
P/S: Please send me a private message.
Thanks again.
Attachments
MON for MCR Cable System.jpg
MON for MCR Cable System.jpg (176.81 KiB) Viewed 4704 times
Last edited by Tony Rivera on Wed May 01, 2019 2:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Edited for security reasons
Offline

truonghtv

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2019 1:58 am
  • Real Name: Nguyen Van Truong

Re: How to control the Smart Videohub 40x40 over RS422 proto

PostWed May 01, 2019 3:47 am

Xtreemtec wrote:The videohub can Be controlled from telnet by IP. So you could write a batch command that just sends the correct telnet command.

By 422 leitch xy protocol is implemented. So search for that protocol documentation and make something for that.


Thank you!
Offline

Ian Morrish

  • Posts: 580
  • Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2015 9:24 pm
  • Location: New Zealand

Re: How to control the Smart Videohub 40x40 over RS422 proto

PostThu May 02, 2019 8:45 am

Windows exe to rotate through a list of inputs on one output.
https://1drv.ms/u/s!ApGpqMMpRLhikKZerNKVVzL-wgIaPw

Runit like this (can be done from startup shortcut or Windows scheduld task on login.

hubrotator.exe -hubip "192.168.1.200" -duration 120 -outport 20 -monports 1,2,5,6,9,10

Or just run the exe and it will prompt you for the values. When you get to the monports just put one number per line and then an empty line to stop.

Duration is in seconds, so test it with 5 seconds first...
Regards,
Ian Morrish
Video Integrated Scripting Environment
(Windows PowerShell with ATEM driver + more)
https://ianmorrish.wordpress.com
Offline

truonghtv

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2019 1:58 am
  • Real Name: Nguyen Van Truong

Re: How to control the Smart Videohub 40x40 over RS422 proto

PostTue May 07, 2019 2:25 am

Ian Morrish wrote:Windows exe to rotate through a list of inputs on one output.
https://1drv.ms/u/s!ApGpqMMpRLhikKZerNKVVzL-wgIaPw

Runit like this (can be done from startup shortcut or Windows scheduld task on login.

hubrotator.exe -hubip "192.168.1.200" -duration 120 -outport 20 -monports 1,2,5,6,9,10

Or just run the exe and it will prompt you for the values. When you get to the monports just put one number per line and then an empty line to stop.

Duration is in seconds, so test it with 5 seconds first...


Dear Ian,
It works.
Thank you so much.
Amazing!
Offline

Oscar Moreno

  • Posts: 29
  • Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2016 3:28 pm

Re: How to control the Smart Videohub 40x40 over RS422 proto

PostTue May 07, 2019 11:44 pm

If it's feasible for you to run port changes via TCP, you can do this in C#. It's a simple TCP client connection:


Connection method:

Code: Select all
        public Boolean Connect_videohub()
        {
           // create variables for videohub IP access
           string vhubserver = "10.x.x.x";
           int vhubPort = 9990;

            Boolean videohub_connection;

            //start with try to catch a failed connection
            try
            {

                //Create a new connection client object...
                TcpClient vhubClient = new TcpClient(vhubserver, vhubPort);
                videohub_connection = true;
                vhubClient.Close();
                return videohub_connection;

            }
            catch //The connection to the server failed
            {
                MessageBox.Show("Connection to Video Hub Server Failed");
                videohub_connection = false;
                return videohub_connection;
            }
        }




To run a command:
Code: Select all
        private void button40_Click(object sender, EventArgs e)
        {

            string Portchange = "19 8";
            Vhubports(Portchange);

        }



To change the ports:

Code: Select all
        private void Vhubports(string ports)
        {
            string cmdBlock = "VIDEO OUTPUT ROUTING:\r\n" + ports + "\r\n\r\n";  //switch ports
            TcpClient vhubClient = new TcpClient(vhubserver, vhubPort);
            int bytecount = System.Text.Encoding.ASCII.GetByteCount(cmdBlock);
            byte[] sendData = new byte[bytecount];
            sendData = System.Text.Encoding.ASCII.GetBytes(cmdBlock);
            NetworkStream stream = vhubClient.GetStream();
            stream.Write(sendData, 0, sendData.Length);
            stream.Close();
            vhubClient.Close();
        }

Offline

tyousa

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2020 8:18 pm
  • Real Name: Tajammal Yousaf

Re: How to control the Smart Videohub 40x40 over RS422 proto

PostFri Oct 02, 2020 8:53 pm

Hi. I am very new to this forum, I need to know if anyone can help me with a simple code like a Batch file or an exe

Which can assign first 8 inputs to 8 outputs and then the next.

My purpose is to configure videohub in a way so that when i want to change one set of inputs which are from 1-8 are assigned to output 1-8, and when i want to assign inputs 9-16 these can send output to same 1-8.

My outputs are constant and need to configure the system by automation so that when one configuration is loaded, inputs from one room should show and when another configuration is loaded, the output should switch to that room.

I want any exe or batch file which i can call to arrange this inputs switching.

Return to Software Developers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests