Blackmagic Design Announces DeckLink 4K Extreme

Get all your news and announcements here!
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Terry Frechette

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 299
  • Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2012 4:49 am

Blackmagic Design Announces DeckLink 4K Extreme

PostFri Sep 07, 2012 7:28 am

Blackmagic Design today announced DeckLink 4K Extreme. DeckLink 4K Extreme is the company’s newest high perofrmance PCI Express capture and playback card, with 4K, 3D, 4:4:4 and 2K capture and playback, combined with conventional SD and HD, in a single card. DeckLink 4K Extreme includes 4K playback that is four times the resolution of regular 1080HD video and its faster PCI Express Generation 2 connection allows these higher resolution video standards such as 4K, 3D with new HDMI 1.4 resolution 3D capture and 4:4:4. Also includes built in hardware up, down cross conversion and 12 bit desgin. DeckLink 4K Extreme is available in November for US$1295.

To learn more, please visit http://www.blackmagicdesign.com/press/pressdetails?releaseID=32226
Offline
User avatar

JoakimZiegler

  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2012 8:07 am
  • Location: Mexico City, Mexico

Re: Blackmagic Design Announces DeckLink 4K Extreme

PostFri Sep 07, 2012 8:09 am

The press releases for the DeckLink 4K Extreme (and also for the UltraStudio 4K) specify 12-bit color precision, but the tech specs on the BMD site say 10-bit. Which is correct? Hoping it's 12-bit, 10-bit is really too little for high-end use.
Joakim Ziegler - Post Supervisor - Terminal - http://terminalmx.com/
Offline
User avatar

Miguel Cobo

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 8:02 am

Re: Blackmagic Design Announces DeckLink 4K Extreme

PostSun Sep 09, 2012 9:39 am

JoakimZiegler wrote:The press releases for the DeckLink 4K Extreme (and also for the UltraStudio 4K) specify 12-bit color precision, but the tech specs on the BMD site say 10-bit. Which is correct? Hoping it's 12-bit, 10-bit is really too little for high-end use.


I am looking info about...

Wich is correct? 10-bit or 12-bit?
Offline
User avatar

Ola Haldor Voll

  • Posts: 141
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 9:22 am
  • Location: Norway

Re: Blackmagic Design Announces DeckLink 4K Extreme

PostFri Sep 14, 2012 5:54 pm

And will it output XYZ directly from Resolve, or do we still need to use the LUT for this?
Colorist
Hoveng Media
Offline
User avatar

Joshua Helling

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 842
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 4:58 pm

Re: Blackmagic Design Announces DeckLink 4K Extreme

PostFri Sep 14, 2012 6:49 pm

It's 12 bit internal, and output is 10bit.

The XYZ will not be natively output through resolve, you'll still need a LUT.
Joshua Helling

Director of World Wide Support
Blackmagic Design Inc.
Offline
User avatar

Ola Haldor Voll

  • Posts: 141
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 9:22 am
  • Location: Norway

Re: Blackmagic Design Announces DeckLink 4K Extreme

PostFri Sep 14, 2012 7:00 pm

Thanks.

In other words, if my info is correct, I would need to step up to Linux in order to get XYZ output on SDI?
Colorist
Hoveng Media
Offline
User avatar

Joshua Helling

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 842
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 4:58 pm

Re: Blackmagic Design Announces DeckLink 4K Extreme

PostFri Sep 14, 2012 7:02 pm

Why?
Joshua Helling

Director of World Wide Support
Blackmagic Design Inc.
Offline
User avatar

JoakimZiegler

  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2012 8:07 am
  • Location: Mexico City, Mexico

Re: Blackmagic Design Announces DeckLink 4K Extreme

PostFri Sep 14, 2012 7:22 pm

Joshua Helling wrote:It's 12 bit internal, and output is 10bit.

The XYZ will not be natively output through resolve, you'll still need a LUT.


Well, that's certainly disappointing. I was hoping for 12-bit output, to be able to actually have an XYZ output (in 2k and 4k) that complies with the DCI standard.
Joakim Ziegler - Post Supervisor - Terminal - http://terminalmx.com/
Offline
User avatar

Ola Haldor Voll

  • Posts: 141
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 9:22 am
  • Location: Norway

Re: Blackmagic Design Announces DeckLink 4K Extreme

PostFri Sep 14, 2012 9:58 pm

Joshua Helling wrote:Why?

Because when applying a LUT for output, it will also affect what I see in the viewer on the computer monitor. Makes it hard to do quick keys with the eye dropper in the GUI. In general I'd like to see the image presented in normal colors in the GUI, while XYZ output to the projector I happen to use from time to time.

Or maybe it should be a feature request to have LUTs affect output only instead of GUI and output. :) whatever is easier to implement.
Colorist
Hoveng Media
Offline
User avatar

Joshua Helling

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 842
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 4:58 pm

Re: Blackmagic Design Announces DeckLink 4K Extreme

PostThu Sep 20, 2012 2:42 am

My question was why would you have to "step up" to a linux system. Perhaps I am mistaken but I don't think there is any difference between Resolve on Mac/PC and Linux in this regard.
Joshua Helling

Director of World Wide Support
Blackmagic Design Inc.
Offline
User avatar

Ola Haldor Voll

  • Posts: 141
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 9:22 am
  • Location: Norway

Re: Blackmagic Design Announces DeckLink 4K Extreme

PostThu Sep 20, 2012 6:06 am

My understanding is that the Linux system can output XYZ natively.
Colorist
Hoveng Media
Offline

Yair Oren

  • Posts: 30
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 12:20 pm

Re: Blackmagic Design Announces DeckLink 4K Extreme

PostFri Sep 28, 2012 2:21 pm

Hi, a question for BlackMagic people,
I have the DeckLink Extreem 3D working very nice with Avid Symphony 6.
Now I read about the DeckLink 4K Extreme and it looks completely the same card as mine
and even has the exact connection diagram.
Will it be possible for the DeckLink Extreem 3D users to upgrade somehow to the DeckLink 4K Extreme?
Thanks
Yair
Offline

Andrew Hunter

  • Posts: 200
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:30 pm
  • Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Blackmagic Design Announces DeckLink 4K Extreme

PostFri Sep 28, 2012 4:50 pm

Joshua Helling wrote:My question was why would you have to "step up" to a linux system. Perhaps I am mistaken but I don't think there is any difference between Resolve on Mac/PC and Linux in this regard.


Pg 79 of the Resolve manual: " XYZ 4:4:4 Dual Link: Only available on Linux systems. Allows monitoring 2K 4:4:4 chroma sampled video in the XYZ color space on supported displays and projectors."
Win7 x64 | Intel i7 3770 | Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5 TH | GTX 680 4Gb | 32Gb DDR-1600
Offline
User avatar

Joshua Helling

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 842
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 4:58 pm

Re: Blackmagic Design Announces DeckLink 4K Extreme

PostFri Sep 28, 2012 5:04 pm

Andrew Hunter wrote:
Pg 79 of the Resolve manual: " XYZ 4:4:4 Dual Link: Only available on Linux systems. Allows monitoring 2K 4:4:4 chroma sampled video in the XYZ color space on supported displays and projectors."


Hrm...interesting. I missed that. I'll check on it.

Okay, I checked on this. And I understand where the confusion is. No Decklink card can do this on Any OS. The reason that feature is limited to Linux is because on Linux you have the option to run multiple Quadro cards with SDI output modules on them. Only Those cards support that feature.

I hope this clarifies.
Last edited by Joshua Helling on Fri Sep 28, 2012 5:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Added Clarity
Joshua Helling

Director of World Wide Support
Blackmagic Design Inc.
Offline

Yair Oren

  • Posts: 30
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 12:20 pm

Re: Blackmagic Design Announces DeckLink 4K Extreme

PostMon Oct 08, 2012 4:13 pm

Hi
I didn't get an answer from BlackMagic people yet
Will it be possible for the DeckLink Extreem 3D users to upgrade somehow to the DeckLink 4K Extreme?
Thanks
Yair
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 4418
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Blackmagic Design Announces DeckLink 4K Extreme

PostMon Oct 08, 2012 11:55 pm

Hi Yair,

Resolve users will be able to replace the DeckLink Extreme 3D card with a DeckLink 4K Extreme card when it becomes available, if that is your question. You will have to buy the DeckLink 4K Extreme card.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

Yair Oren

  • Posts: 30
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 12:20 pm

Re: Blackmagic Design Announces DeckLink 4K Extreme

PostTue Oct 09, 2012 9:38 am

Hi Dwaine,
Thanks for your replay,
I'm using Avid Symphony not Resolve.
Does it mean I will have to pay full price?
Thanks
Yair
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 4418
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Blackmagic Design Announces DeckLink 4K Extreme

PostTue Oct 09, 2012 3:13 pm

If you currently own a DeckLink HD Extreme 3D card, and you want a DeckLink 4K Extreme card when it becomes available, then yes, you will have to purchase it at whatever its cost is. There won't be any sort of trade in credit for an existing card, if that's what you are asking.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

Yair Oren

  • Posts: 30
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 12:20 pm

Re: Blackmagic Design Announces DeckLink 4K Extreme

PostTue Oct 09, 2012 4:41 pm

Hi Dwaine,
Yes that is what I was hoping for,
I'm sorry to hear that I won't be able to upgrade.
Thanks
Yair

Return to Announcements

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest