Moza iFocus - Anyone Else Have This Issue?

Got something to discuss that's not about Blackmagic products? Then check out the Off-Topic forum!
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

MontgomerySutton

  • Posts: 41
  • Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2013 5:28 pm

Moza iFocus - Anyone Else Have This Issue?

PostMon Feb 18, 2019 10:10 pm

Got the Moza Air 2 and an offset plate to work with my Pocket 4K and was starting to get some pretty good test results with the Pocket 4K on there (much better than what I got with the C100mkII on the gimbal) -- but all of a sudden the iFocus motor has totally frozen. The LED is a solid green light (which in the manual doesn't seem to be any correct mode), and it won't respond to the power button or the Moza Air 2 when connected to the Multi-CAN port.

Their support is as bad as everyone says, can't get a response on any channel. Has anyone else here had this issue with the iFocus? Any idea on how to do a hard reset? Was hoping to use this setup on a shoot tomorrow - so much for that!

Thanks for any help anyone can give or point me towards!
Montgomery Sutton
Producer, Cinematographer
montgomery@lupoblu.com

lupo blu, LLC (www.lupoblu.com)
Salt Pillar Productions (www.saltpillarproductions.com)

URSA Mini 4.6K | Red Scarlet Dragon | Canon C100 mkII | BMPCC (x2)
Offline

MontgomerySutton

  • Posts: 41
  • Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2013 5:28 pm

Re: Moza iFocus - Anyone Else Have This Issue?

PostSat Feb 23, 2019 4:37 pm

If anyone else ends up having this problem, it's an error of a failed firmware upgrade. Let the iFocus run out of power, then recharge and connect to the Moza while turned off. Connect Moza to a computer in upgrade mode with the Moza Master app open, then long press the iFocus power until the white light comes on to enter upgrade mode. Update the firmware and turn off both iFocus and Moza Air 2 and -- for me at least -- the iFocus will work again!

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk
Montgomery Sutton
Producer, Cinematographer
montgomery@lupoblu.com

lupo blu, LLC (www.lupoblu.com)
Salt Pillar Productions (www.saltpillarproductions.com)

URSA Mini 4.6K | Red Scarlet Dragon | Canon C100 mkII | BMPCC (x2)
Offline

JulesKlein

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2019 5:09 am
  • Real Name: Jules Klein

Re: Moza iFocus - Anyone Else Have This Issue?

PostMon Mar 04, 2019 5:13 am

Thanks for posting this info. I'm having the same issue. I tried to upgrade the iFocus firmware via the Moza iOS app, but it's causing the same crash each time. And for whatever reason my Mac/Moza_Master app isn't recognizing the Air 2.

Has your iFocus continued to work after the steps you described? I'm tearing my hair out here. Currently won't power down (again)-- it's just frozen on a green light.


Thanks,
Jules
Offline

MontgomerySutton

  • Posts: 41
  • Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2013 5:28 pm

Re: Moza iFocus - Anyone Else Have This Issue?

PostTue Mar 05, 2019 4:00 am

Hi Jules,

No, it's been working fine since I did the firmware install. Moza Master can't find the gimbal even when it's turned on normally, or only in firmware update mode?

Yeah, the battery on the iFocus is a beast. Great for shooting - not so great for failed firmware update freezes. Did you reach out to Gudsen? They did reply after a few days, I had just already figured it out by the time they got in touch so maybe they can help you too -- but of course I'm happy to help as well if I can!
Montgomery Sutton
Producer, Cinematographer
montgomery@lupoblu.com

lupo blu, LLC (www.lupoblu.com)
Salt Pillar Productions (www.saltpillarproductions.com)

URSA Mini 4.6K | Red Scarlet Dragon | Canon C100 mkII | BMPCC (x2)
Offline
User avatar

Arild Danielsen

  • Posts: 11
  • Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2014 9:01 am
  • Location: Norway

Re: Moza iFocus - Anyone Else Have This Issue?

PostTue Mar 05, 2019 1:44 pm

MontgomerySutton wrote:If anyone else ends up having this problem, it's an error of a failed firmware upgrade. Let the iFocus run out of power, then recharge and connect to the Moza while turned off. Connect Moza to a computer in upgrade mode with the Moza Master app open, then long press the iFocus power until the white light comes on to enter upgrade mode. Update the firmware and turn off both iFocus and Moza Air 2 and -- for me at least -- the iFocus will work again!


I have been mind boggling all day over this issue. Will try this as soon as it's out of power. Thank you.

UPDATE: I can confirm this solved the issue for me too.
Last edited by Arild Danielsen on Wed Mar 06, 2019 8:33 am, edited 1 time in total.
danielsenphoto.com
Offline
User avatar

Arild Danielsen

  • Posts: 11
  • Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2014 9:01 am
  • Location: Norway

Re: Moza iFocus - Anyone Else Have This Issue?

PostTue Mar 05, 2019 1:54 pm

JulesKlein wrote:And for whatever reason my Mac/Moza_Master app isn't recognizing the Air 2.


I noticed the app does not recognise the Air2 when using a USB-C to USB-C cable, but it did find the device when I used the USB-C to USB (A-Male) cable which shipped with the Air2 (through an adapter as I'm using mac with USB-C only). Furthermore, I installed the driver that was in the download archive before launching the software.
danielsenphoto.com
Offline

JulesKlein

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2019 5:09 am
  • Real Name: Jules Klein

Re: Moza iFocus - Anyone Else Have This Issue?

PostTue Mar 05, 2019 2:41 pm

Arild--

I had the same issue WRT Moza_Master on Mojave. I uninstalled/re-downloaded/re-installed the driver and then the app recognized the Air 2. This time the iFocus updated firmware successfully.

I think there might have been an issue when updating firmware via the iOS app (which I tried multiple times).

Everything is working now after re-installing the driver on Mac OS and performing the firmware upgrade that way.


- Jules
Offline
User avatar

Arild Danielsen

  • Posts: 11
  • Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2014 9:01 am
  • Location: Norway

Re: Moza iFocus - Anyone Else Have This Issue?

PostWed Mar 06, 2019 7:03 am

JulesKlein wrote:I had the same issue WRT Moza_Master on Mojave. I uninstalled/re-downloaded/re-installed the driver and then the app recognized the Air 2. This time the iFocus updated firmware successfully.

With a USB-C to USB-C cable?
danielsenphoto.com
Offline

JulesKlein

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2019 5:09 am
  • Real Name: Jules Klein

Re: Moza iFocus - Anyone Else Have This Issue?

PostWed Mar 06, 2019 1:34 pm

I used usb-c to usb-A and put it into a hub that is USB 2.0. I read someplace that the Moss doesn’t do well via usb 3.

Return to Off-Topic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests