Intensity Shuttle cutting to black

Getting started with a Blackmagic product? Ask questions here about setup and installation.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Craig Ferguson

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2017 9:39 pm

Intensity Shuttle cutting to black

PostFri Dec 15, 2017 9:49 pm

HI all,

New to the forum and excited about using the Intensity shuttle to archive my clients old footage,
i have setup Intensity shuttle USB 3 to record VHS tapes from a S-VHS player on an iMac , however the input capture keeps cutting from footage to black all the time ? i have changed cables , inputs (composite & svhs)
even tried it on another iMac , it still flicks to black for a few frames constantly, i have a monitor to view the footage separately and it looks stable, any ideas ??

Thanks
Craig
Offline
User avatar

Xtreemtec

  • Posts: 2644
  • Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:48 am
  • Location: The Netherlands

Re: Intensity Shuttle cutting to black

PostFri Dec 15, 2017 10:56 pm

VHS video is not stable enough for a Capture card.. You need to put a TimeBaseCorrector inbetween
Daniel Wittenaar .:: Xtreemtec Media Productions ::. -= www.xtreemtec.nl =-
4K OBV, ATEM TVS HD, 1M/E 4K, 2M/E Broadcast Studio 4K, Hyperdeck Studio Mini, SONY FS7 4K, Ursa Broadcast 4K
Offline

Craig Ferguson

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2017 9:39 pm

Re: Intensity Shuttle cutting to black

PostSat Dec 16, 2017 4:41 am

Thanks for the TBC tip, i ended up running the footage through my DVD recorder then HDMI out
into the intensity, worked a treat.

Return to Getting Started

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests