Fusion Studio & Resolve Studio with the same license/dongle?

Getting started with a Blackmagic product? Ask questions here about setup and installation.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Jonas Nyström

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Tue Jun 11, 2019 7:27 am
  • Real Name: Jonas Nyström

Fusion Studio & Resolve Studio with the same license/dongle?

PostSun Oct 06, 2019 6:53 am

Hi!

I've read somewhere that buying one Studio product would give you the possibility to run the other.
Is that correct?
Does that apply to both dongle and card license verification?

I've tried to get an answer to this form swedish retailers, but no one seem to have heard about it.

I would prefer to develop lua-scripts, fuses etc using Fusion Studio (because of the more lightweight exe, shorter starttimes, multiple project tabs etc.) but use them in Resolve Studio projects (Resolve Free doesn't work because of limitations in using scripts.)

Best / Jonas
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 6840
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: Fusion Studio & Resolve Studio with the same license/don

PostMon Oct 07, 2019 12:37 am

The Fusion Studio dongle will run DaVinci Resolve 16 and the DaVinci Resolve dongle will run Fusion Studio 16
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline

Jonas Nyström

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Tue Jun 11, 2019 7:27 am
  • Real Name: Jonas Nyström

Re: Fusion Studio & Resolve Studio with the same license/don

PostMon Oct 07, 2019 3:42 pm

Thank you, Peter!

(I will interpret your answer as "The Fusion Studio dongle will run DaVinci Resolve 16 *Studio* and the DaVinci Resolve *Studio* dongle will run Fusion Studio 16" :D )

// Jonas
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 6840
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: Fusion Studio & Resolve Studio with the same license/don

PostWed Oct 09, 2019 5:35 am

correct
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline

joshua.d.taft

  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2018 1:05 am
  • Real Name: Joshua Taft

Re: Fusion Studio & Resolve Studio with the same license/don

PostWed Oct 23, 2019 11:13 pm

Do we know if there's any plan to also give this support for people who have a software license for Resolve Studio? There seems to be a lot of question around this given a dongle is the same price as a license, but many resolve users can't seem to use fusion studio 16 with their existing resolve license.
Offline

Timber

  • Posts: 26
  • Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2019 5:23 am
  • Real Name: Tim Sassoon

Re: Fusion Studio & Resolve Studio with the same license/don

PostMon Oct 28, 2019 6:46 pm

I have a Studio dongle and am using both Resolve and Fusion, and need the full Fusion. Is the best practice to uninstall Fusion 9 and install Connect, to use both Fusion 16 and Resolve 16.1 together? Is there any reason NOT to do that?
Offline

Timber

  • Posts: 26
  • Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2019 5:23 am
  • Real Name: Tim Sassoon

Re: Fusion Studio & Resolve Studio with the same license/don

PostSun Nov 03, 2019 3:59 am

The answer I've found is, especially on a laptop, keep Fusion 9 installed, because it'll run standalone without a dongle, unlike Resolve or Fusion Studio, and you might need to do some simple work quickly.

Return to Getting Started

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: gobris and 6 guests