Intensity Pro capture settings

Getting started with a Blackmagic product? Ask questions here about setup and installation.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

gobris

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Sat Nov 09, 2019 7:06 pm
  • Real Name: oguz kayhan

Intensity Pro capture settings

PostSat Nov 09, 2019 11:14 pm

Hello,
I have an Intensity Pro (Not 4k) with breakout cable..
I need to connect an old video player which has Scart only.

The scart adapter I have a composite and s-video output.
And also, on Desktop Video Setup application, I can see , HDMI, Component, Composite and S-Video is selectable..

But, There is no composite or s-video input on breakout cable..

Or maybe I can use the YB Y input ports as this also???

And another question. I wonder if there is an app that can show me live view from capture card..
I mean, without capturing start.. Can I see the input view live?

Regards..
Offline

Petter Opsahlseter

  • Posts: 31
  • Joined: Thu Oct 29, 2015 9:29 pm

Re: Intensity Pro capture settings

PostWed Nov 13, 2019 8:54 pm

Use the composite (yellow) input in your break out cable. The best would be if you had s-video output on your video player and used the intensity shuttle or something other capture card with s-video input.

You should use Media Express software that came with the capture card for view and capture settings. It would be sufficient with the 8-bit YUV for VHS. You may perhaps also need a Time Base Corrector if the video player doesn’t have it built in.
Offline

gobris

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Sat Nov 09, 2019 7:06 pm
  • Real Name: oguz kayhan

Re: Intensity Pro capture settings

PostWed Nov 13, 2019 9:22 pm

Hello Petter thank you for reply..
But I dont have composite/svideo input on my breakout cable..

134367.jpg
134367.jpg (21.52 KiB) Viewed 1000 times
Offline

Petter Opsahlseter

  • Posts: 31
  • Joined: Thu Oct 29, 2015 9:29 pm

Re: Intensity Pro capture settings

PostSat Nov 16, 2019 11:17 am

Aaah. OK. Then it won't work I think because your break out cable only supports component, not composite. You need the intensity shuttle with both s-video and composite inputs/outputs.
Offline

lockhartgary

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Sun May 26, 2019 2:56 pm
  • Real Name: Gary Lockhart

Re: Intensity Pro capture settings

PostSun Nov 17, 2019 2:00 am

You should be able to uses the green Y In input cable. Once you set the software to NTSC composite it should be fine.
Offline

Don Parker

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Sat Nov 23, 2019 12:48 am
  • Real Name: Don Parker

Re: Intensity Pro capture settings

PostSat Nov 23, 2019 1:39 am

Here are the Intensity Pro and Pro 4K Breakout Cable connections for Composite and S-Video, from the Desktop Video-Operation Manual, September 2012 edition.

Note that the RCA plug colours of the S-Video adapter cable might differ from those in the picture. Mine are Green and Blue, not Yellow and White.

For S-Video In/Out, I have to connect:
Green-to-Green[8 Y IN], Blue-to-Blue[9 Y-B In] - for Input
Green-to-Blue[5 B-Y OUT], Blue-to-Red[3 Y-R OUT] - for Output

Blackmagic Intensity Breakout Cable - Composite Analog Video.PNG
Blackmagic Intensity Breakout Cable - Composite Analog Video.PNG (97.25 KiB) Viewed 833 times

Blackmagic Intensity Breakout Cable - S-Video Analog Video.PNG
Blackmagic Intensity Breakout Cable - S-Video Analog Video.PNG (99.44 KiB) Viewed 833 times

Return to Getting Started

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests