MacPro Update für HD SDI Capturing

Getting started with a Blackmagic product? Ask questions here about setup and installation.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Michael Jörg

  • Posts: 55
  • Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 4:00 pm
  • Location: Germany

MacPro Update für HD SDI Capturing

PostMon Sep 24, 2012 4:16 pm

Hi there,

I need to record 20 hours of HD SDI signal to my MacPro 5.1 Quad-Core 3,2Ghz using FCP and Prores HQ 1080p. I plan to update my mac for this job as following:

-Ultrastudio SDI USB 3.0
-LaCie USB 3.0 PCI Express Card to connect it

I am recording on an esata raid.

Has anyone experience with this set?
Any recommendations who to do it another / better way?
Michael Jörg
http://www.michaeljoerg.de
Offline

Neil Roberts

  • Posts: 15
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 8:36 am

Re: MacPro Update für HD SDI Capturing

PostTue Sep 25, 2012 8:42 am

Why not use a decklink SDI?

http://www.blackmagicdesign.com/nl/prod ... nk/models/

I think you could have problems getting USB3 running correctly on a Mac Pro
Offline

Michael Jörg

  • Posts: 55
  • Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 4:00 pm
  • Location: Germany

Re: MacPro Update für HD SDI Capturing

PostTue Sep 25, 2012 9:49 am

Actually your right. That´s the save method.

The mobility was interesting for me. The Ultrastudio SDI I could use on a Laptop in the future.
or anywhere on any machine...
Regarding to LaCie, USB 3.0 works with there driver very well.
But to capture SDI over 20 hours without problems...?
Thats why I asked for any experience. I´m just curios if that would work?

For now the Decklink Card would be the save solution.
Michael Jörg
http://www.michaeljoerg.de

Return to Getting Started

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests