Hesitant about Blackmagic products...

Getting started with a Blackmagic product? Ask questions here about setup and installation.
  • Author

jmazz

Hesitant about Blackmagic products...

PostWed Aug 22, 2012 4:40 am

First, I am not a newbie in this sort of things. I heard a lot about Blackmagic's products and decided
to give one of them a try. I bought the Intensity Pro card and met and surpassed the basic requirements for its use. What I've noticed with this basic video product is that it is inconsistent in its functions. This is especially true of its sound reproduction capability. Sometimes it works and sometimes it does not, and when it works be careful that you do not change a parameter in your computer that might throw the sound off again. Despite the many complaints about this problem, Blackmagicdesign.com does not seem to be doing anything about it. It seems to me that this is a design problem that they do not want to own up to. If that is the case, they should not keep that product in the market.

Coming from another line of products, I am now hesitant to make other much more substantial investments in some of their professional equipment. Am I wrong in assuming this?

John Brawley

Re: Hesitant about Blackmagic products...

PostWed Aug 22, 2012 5:18 am

HI.

I can only speak about the camera as I haven't used the Intensity pro CArd.

The camera itself is very solid, even in these very early days. I've recently been running the camera all day for literally hours on end and not having a single problem with crashing or not functioning.

I'm sure, like any product, there are sometimes issues that crop up and I would expect the camera won't be immune to those. I've been shooting with it in real world environments successfully over the last few months and so far I i've only been let down by a defective SSD (nothing to do with BMD).

I should also say I've had RED drives fail and CF cards fail as well, so no camera is immune to those problems.

jb

Tom Olsen