Intensity Shuttle USB 3.0 in Dell M6600 Black Capture Screen

Getting started with a Blackmagic product? Ask questions here about setup and installation.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

j3d

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2012 4:53 pm

Intensity Shuttle USB 3.0 in Dell M6600 Black Capture Screen

PostWed Oct 24, 2012 5:05 pm

Hi,

I have:
Black Magic Intensity Shuttle USB 3.0 Serial 1088366
All I get is a black screen when I try to add a composite source to the composite video in.
I have checked the composite video with another capture device and it shows fine in there. It works fine with an EasyCap if you set it to "PAL B". The Source is a GH2 lumix camera's composite out.
I have tried the HDMI in fed from the same camera I think it is 1080p 25p. Same thing black screen. StarTech HDMI to ExpressCard HD Video Capture Card Adaptor 1080p picks it up fine.

The machine is a Dell M6600 with Windows 7 64bit sp1 i7 2920xm. Have 2 SDD in a raid 0. When I started out it had Bios A07. During the process of trying to get this to work I updated it to A12.

I have tried to follow the instruction regarding updating the USB 3.0 drivers
I have put in the renesas_usb3_2.1.39.0 driver from station-driver.com and the renesas_usb3_4.0.2.0 firmware. The option is ticked to turn off the power saving in usb 3.0 in the renesas dialogue.

When I plug in the usb 3.0 cable an Autoplay.

I am version 9.6.6 of the Desktop Video Windows I did previously install version 9.6.5 which came on the disk. Did uninstall this and the installed version 9.6.6

All I get in the Black Magic Media Express is a black capture screen. Please could you help? I will have to return it within 6 days if I can't get it to work.

http://www.3d-imaging.co.uk
Offline

Sarah Jones

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 205
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 3:45 pm

Re: Intensity Shuttle USB 3.0 in Dell M6600 Black Capture Sc

PostWed Oct 24, 2012 5:36 pm

Having the NEC/Renesas chipset on your computer is not an absolute guarantee that the hardware will fully work on your system, and we have seen limited success on laptop computers. The first thing I would check is if the Intensity Shuttle is detected on your system properly. To check this, you'll go to your Control Panel and under the Blackmagic Design Control Panel, you'll want to make sure the settings are not greyed out and the top of the window says "Settings for your Intensity Shuttle." If your settings are all greyed out and the window says "No Settings Required" this means that the hardware is not detecting on the system.

If you are getting detection, when you're in Media Express, you'll want to make sure that in the "Device" drop down menu at the top, the Intensity Shuttle is selected at your device. If no hardware is detected, make sure no other software is open that might have already connected to the device. Typically this will include things like editing or streaming software.

If you do have the hardware detected in Media Express, you'll want to go back to your Control Panel settings and make sure you have selected the proper input. For the setup you describe, this would be Composite Video and Analog RCA Audio. Also be sure Input Processing and Output Processing are both set to "Off." Back in Media Express, you'll want to go to your Preferences and select the proper Project Video Format to match your source's resolution. Again, in your setup, this will be PAL. For your second setup, you'll need to adjust the input to HDMI and the resolution to 1080p25.
Sarah Jones

Support Representative
Blackmagic Design USA
Offline

j3d

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2012 4:53 pm

Re: Intensity Shuttle USB 3.0 in Dell M6600 Black Capture Sc

PostThu Nov 01, 2012 2:07 pm

Thanks. It works fine. My video source was an Lumix GH2 PAL camera HDMI out and so when I changed the settings to 1080p 50i it worked fine.

Return to Getting Started

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests