Intensity Shuttle Troubleshooting

Getting started with a Blackmagic product? Ask questions here about setup and installation.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

clarkemichael

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2012 12:42 am
  • Location: New York, NY

Intensity Shuttle Troubleshooting

PostThu Dec 06, 2012 1:09 am

Hello,

I recently purchased an Intensity Shuttle with a Thunderbolt connection in hopes of doing something like this video:

Workflow includes shooting in HD, sending to VCR, then back to computer to create an analog HD composite of sorts. Using a brand new MacBook Pro I've been able to send a signal to my VCR to record, but I'm having issues getting a good signal back into my computer. I keep getting a flickering image and can't seem to find an answer as to what is going on.

Here's an example of what I'm getting:

Any suggestions?
www.clarkevisuals.com
Offline
User avatar

Esa Kranz

  • Posts: 95
  • Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 12:41 pm
  • Location: Helsinki, Finland

Re: Intensity Shuttle Troubleshooting

PostSat Dec 08, 2012 5:13 pm

I try to understand your workflow: you say that shooting is done in HD, but you are sending it to VCR.
So is that a VHS tape recorder ?
- Then you would be recording in Standard Definition as that is by default VHS standard.

Is there a downconverted output straight from you camera?
Which connection you are using: composite / S-Video / YUV?
Esa Kranz
Product Manager at Hedcom
Blackmagic Reseller, Finland
www.hedcom.fi/home
Offline

Chris Pearse

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 164
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 4:34 am
  • Location: Tokyo, Japan

Re: Intensity Shuttle Troubleshooting

PostMon Dec 10, 2012 2:17 am

Hi,

I think this sounds like another customer's issue that I just replied to. I'll re-post the information I provided there.

It sounds like the problem you are seeing is down to the quality of the output of the VHS output. VHS, and certain other tape systems produce very unstable composite outputs. TVs and monitors do not typically mind this, but the Intensity Pro needs steady sync for it to capture correctly. A Timebase corrector (TBC) may help, but depending on the condition of the tape it might not always be perfect. Some VHS players may also have a TBC built in. I don't have any recommendations for a TBC, but others who have used them may have some suggestions.


Here is the original thread.
Chris Pearse
Product Specialist
Blackmagic Design Japan

Return to Getting Started

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests