Intensity Pro: intermittent analog input

Getting started with a Blackmagic product? Ask questions here about setup and installation.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

Pete Holzmann

  • Posts: 13
  • Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2012 7:34 pm

Intensity Pro: intermittent analog input

PostSat Dec 08, 2012 10:24 pm

Hi,

I've got a new Intensity Pro (PCIe) connected to a very fast new Win7 computer.

I'm using it to handle a (huge) pile of legacy media.

Right now, the task is A->D conversion of old self-recorded VHS videos. For now I'm using a simple VHS composite video player, not even S-Video.

Played to a TV monitor, all is well. Sound and video are good, all the time.

Captured via Intensity Pro (even in preview mode, no storage), there are many dropouts per second in both audio and video; it is somewhat dependent on the quality of the tape. I see this both in Adobe PPro CS6 and in BMG Media Express.

I assume some kind of level is set wrong, but I can't find it. The available control panel settings only affect chroma and brightness. I have no I/O processing enabled. (IRE is at 7.5)

HEEELP! Any ideas what this could be?

Blessings,
Pete
Offline

Chris Pearse

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 164
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 4:34 am
  • Location: Tokyo, Japan

Re: Intensity Pro: intermittent analog input

PostMon Dec 10, 2012 2:00 am

Hi Pete,

It sounds like the problem you are seeing is down to the quality of the output of the VHS output. VHS, and certain other tape systems produce very unstable composite outputs. TVs and monitors do not typically mind this, but the Intensity Pro needs steady sync for it to capture correctly. A Timebase corrector (TBC) may help, but depending on the condition of the tape it might not always be perfect. Some VHS players may also have a TBC built in. I don't have any recommendations for a TBC, but others who have used them may have some suggestions.
Chris Pearse
Product Specialist
Blackmagic Design Japan
Offline

KHH

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 11:38 am

Re: Intensity Pro: intermittent analog input

PostTue Dec 11, 2012 2:21 pm

Hi Pete
I'm facing the same problem when playing VHS tapes or using camcorder.
However noticed when sending the signal from the aerial TV connection at the VHS directly to the composite output it works fine.

Return to Getting Started

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot] and 16 guests