Media Express - weird split screen

Getting started with a Blackmagic product? Ask questions here about setup and installation.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

ihdmedia

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2012 11:44 am

Media Express - weird split screen

PostWed Aug 29, 2012 12:32 pm

When a Sony z5 is connected via HDMI I get a split screen with a green line in the center. I have tried all input settings to no avail....can someone help?
Offline

Kaspar Ko

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 75
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:46 am

Re: Media Express - weird split screen

PostWed Aug 29, 2012 2:59 pm

Hello,

Normally when you see a split screen like that it's one of two things.

1. A progressive signal is being sent to the card when it is expecting an interlaced signal. Most commonly happens when Media Express (or any other application) is set for NTSC (480i) and the source is sending a 480p signal.

2. HD signal is being sent to a composite input which is not within the spec of composite which is standard definition only.

Since you are using HDMI output, my guess is that it's most likely the former and not the latter. So please confirm that the Sony you are using is outputting the same signal that Media Express is configured to be expecting. If that looks correct, I would try a different source as a test as well that you can set the output resolution from.
Kaspar Ko
Support Representative
Blackmagic Design USA
Offline

mnkuba

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 10:54 pm

Re: Media Express - weird split screen

PostMon Jan 14, 2013 10:58 pm

I'm getting the same problem and I can't seem to fix it. I'm using a panasonic AG-AC130 to capture. I get that weird dual screen with the green line going through the center, and on 1080p 30 and 1080p 24 there simply is no image displayed from the camera. I've run through all the formats in the camera, and even when i have it set on 1080p 30 in both the camera and media express I still get nothing.
Offline

Chris Pearse

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 164
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 4:34 am
  • Location: Tokyo, Japan

Re: Media Express - weird split screen

PostTue Jan 15, 2013 3:41 am

Hi,

If you're getting this split screen and Media Express is set to a 1080p format, it most likely means the incoming signal is 1080i, or vice versa. This happens because the signals are effectively the same, but the video lines scan in a different order.

Most cameras will list 1080p30 as a mode, but it's usually just short for 1080p29.97. The same thing goes for 1080i60 and 1080i59.94. I would suggest trying each of these formats in Media Express and see if you get any picture.
Chris Pearse
Product Specialist
Blackmagic Design Japan

Return to Getting Started

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests