Page 1 of 1

Intensity Shuttle Thunderbolt with Premiere Pro CC 2016

PostPosted: Sat Dec 10, 2016 4:36 pm
by Mike Pella
I just setup my brand new Intensity Shuttle with the intent of digitizing some VHS tapes. I have my deck connected via S-VHS and I've set that as the input using Desktop Video Setup. Thunderbolt into my MBP. I have tried both Media Express and Premiere Pro to capture the video, but neither one is seeing an input. PP recognizes Blackmagic Capture as an option, but I'm not getting anything into my system. What am I missing?
Mike

MacBook Pro (Mid 2014)
MacOS Sierra 10.12.1
Adobe Premiere Pro CC 2017.0.1
BMD Media Express 3.5.3

Re: Intensity Shuttle Thunderbolt with Premiere Pro CC 2016

PostPosted: Tue Dec 13, 2016 12:08 am
by Tony Rivera
Make sure to close all other software and open Media Express. Once that's opened and everything is connected, click on the Log and Capture tab and verify you're seeing an image there. If so, you may see at the bottom left of that window that shows the signal that's being ingested to the unit. If you do not see anything there, the signal may not be supported by the unit. Can you verify the source matches the format supported by the Shuttle? Also, can you say what version of Desktop Video you have installed (M.E. is a separate piece of software included in that package).

Re: Intensity Shuttle Thunderbolt with Premiere Pro CC 2016

PostPosted: Tue Dec 13, 2016 10:56 am
by Colin Barrett
Mike - you say that you're attempting to capture VHS yet you mention that you're connecting "via S-VHS" (although you mean S-Video). Is the source VHS or S-VHS? The Intensity Shuttle is fussy about which input is which because, in my experience, it won't accept a standard (Composite Video) VHS input over an S-Video (YC Component Video) connection.

If you're connected properly, then - as Tony says above - you need to ensure that the settings as determined in the Blackmagic Desktop Video Utility (in "Applications") must exactly match those set in the Preferences pane within Media Express. I would, by the way, get things working in Media Express first, after which you can then test the process in Premiere. Make sure that Premiere is not active (use "Force Quit" if necessary) when trying to connect Media Express with the hardware otherwise you'll get a conflict.

Re: Intensity Shuttle Thunderbolt with Premiere Pro CC 2016

PostPosted: Tue Dec 13, 2016 2:13 pm
by Mike Pella
Thank you both for your replies. Yes, I meant S-Video as my connection. I have been attempting to capture an S-VHS tape. I will do some further testing this evening using a composite signal. Also, I wasn't aware of conflicts that might come up if both Premiere and Media Express are open. I'll post my results.
Mike

Re: Intensity Shuttle Thunderbolt with Premiere Pro CC 2016

PostPosted: Thu Dec 15, 2016 7:51 pm
by Mike Pella
Tony,

I've used Media Express previously with an Intensity Pro card, so I'm familiar with it. "...verify that you are seeing an image..." That's exactly the issue - I'm not seeing anything into Media Express. I've tested an S-V connection, composite, and HDMI from a camera and get nothing with any of them. I'm using a brand new Apple Thunderbolt cable directly into the MBP. I've tested the connections with video monitors and the output signal of the devices is good. It seems like a compatibility issue, although I don't know where the problem lies.

I'm having this conversation separately with Customer Support via email, and the question of the output format of the VCR has been discussed. It is a garden variety consumer S-VHS deck for home use. I'm certain it is outputting 525i.

"...what version of Desktop Video..." I have ME 3.5.3. Desktop Video Setup is 10.8.4

Thanks,
Mike

Re: Intensity Shuttle Thunderbolt with Premiere Pro CC 2016

PostPosted: Thu Dec 15, 2016 9:34 pm
by Tony Rivera
If you have different cables you can connect between the source and the Shuttle, this would help eliminate some other possible issues.

Re: Intensity Shuttle Thunderbolt with Premiere Pro CC 2016

PostPosted: Mon Dec 19, 2016 2:57 pm
by Mike Pella
After numerous discussions via e-mail with Tech Support, they asked me to send them the unit to be tested/repaired/replaced. As a 30+ year professional in video production, I appreciate their thoroughness in troubleshooting. This has been quite frustrating as the Shuttle is so basic and should have been a true plug-and-play. I'm hoping for a favorable outcome.

Re: Intensity Shuttle Thunderbolt with Premiere Pro CC 2016

PostPosted: Tue Jan 17, 2017 9:09 pm
by Mike Pella
I sent the Shuttle back to BMD for testing and they found nothing wrong with it and sent it back. I put it back into my system and I'm still not getting a signal. My MBP sees the Shuttle, as it appears in Desktop Video Setup, System Report, and as a Capture option in Premiere Pro. However, I have not successfully captured anything. I am pretty sure I have all the settings correct in both Desktop Video and Media Express and both software are current versions. I'm stumped and ready to toss it in the trash. Does anybody have a suggestion for something I may have missed?

Re: Intensity Shuttle Thunderbolt with Premiere Pro CC 2016

PostPosted: Wed Jan 18, 2017 10:36 am
by Colin Barrett
Mike, I've mentioned this somewhere else in these forums (can't remember where) but I had a really annoying connectivity problem with my Shuttle for a while and this persisted no matter which of my Macs it was connected to. In the end, I had the brilliant idea of trying a different Thunderbolt cable and once I'd done that it worked OK.

Being a business user, I still had the receipt so I got the supplier to replace the faulty one. I've since had another faulty Thunderbolt cable which I've also had replaced by the Apple store where it was bought. It's quite common with the Apple-supplied ones, I understand.

I'm sure you've already performed this test, but I thought it worth dropping in just in case.

Re: Intensity Shuttle Thunderbolt with Premiere Pro CC 2016

PostPosted: Fri Dec 22, 2017 10:12 pm
by carlosavilajr
Hello, I am attempting to capture video from an HDMI source to my Intensity Shuttle Thunderbolt Model I have done it (no exaggeration) at least 50 times with no problems, but since I installed the new version 10.9.7 in my MacBook Pro and Hackintosh and iMac it simply does not work, and this is driving me crazy. Any Help I noticed that this version was released 12 September 2017 but Apple released a security update, which I installed 16 September 2017 does anybody knows if this has something to do with this problem.

Re: Intensity Shuttle Thunderbolt with Premiere Pro CC 2016

PostPosted: Thu Jan 04, 2018 8:57 pm
by Andrew Glennie
carlosavilajr wrote:Hello, I am attempting to capture video from an HDMI source to my Intensity Shuttle Thunderbolt Model I have done it (no exaggeration) at least 50 times with no problems, but since I installed the new version 10.9.7 in my MacBook Pro and Hackintosh and iMac it simply does not work, and this is driving me crazy. Any Help I noticed that this version was released 12 September 2017 but Apple released a security update, which I installed 16 September 2017 does anybody knows if this has something to do with this problem.


Hi People,

I also am having no luck with 10.9.7 on my MacBook Pro. I have reverted to 10.9.5 which works fine. With respect to attempting to capture VHS, other discussions on this topic indicate that the Shuttle is not capable of doing this as its not able to sync with the VHS. I have tried and while I get flashes of picture it never settles down.

Andrew