Church service capture and playback

Getting started with a Blackmagic product? Ask questions here about setup and installation.
  • Author

Scott Strance

Church service capture and playback

PostMon Feb 20, 2017 4:38 pm

Hello all!
My background is in still photography, so this video game is all new to me..... Pls be gentle. :-)

Working for a church, we have a few use cases we would like to implement which include:

Primary Phase 1
1. Ability to capture an entire service from an audio/video perspective for internal review and be web accessible for staff use.
2. Ability to make available only the sermon content of the service for web distribution within a few hours to church membership.
3. Have zero post production time if possible. ie: get it right at the switch.

Phase 2
1. Ability to show sermon content within an hour for a possible remote location (10mi away) service.
2. Ability to display 'live' the entire service on local television monitors throughout the facility as it unfolds.
3. Ability to have the audio feed played 'live' throughout the facility as a service unfolds.

Phase 3
1. Ability to have the sermon content available within an hour for web distribution.

The following is my basic understanding of how this might work....

If we focus on Phase 1 items, is the basic understanding solid of how this would work? And if so, what would be the recommendations for the camera, switch, recorder, encoder and playback decks?

We have a VimeoPro account, yet aren't sure if we'll go that route for a redirect or contain the sermon content within our own website.

I'd like to stay within a single product line if possible to avoid potential conflicts.

I do not require 4K capability now nor do we anticipate this in the future. Our graphics are created at 1080 yet everything is displayed at 720.

Very much looking forward to recommendations and I'll have a ton of follow-up questions.

Thanks for looking....
~scott

michael_holt