Canon HV40 HDMI output not recognised by BMVA 4K

Getting started with a Blackmagic product? Ask questions here about setup and installation.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Colin McDonald

  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2017 10:09 pm
  • Location: UK

Canon HV40 HDMI output not recognised by BMVA 4K

PostThu Mar 09, 2017 11:32 pm

New to the forum and first post; need some advice:
I have a new Video Assist 4K and have the 2.3.1 update installed. I can't get it to recognise a Canon HV40 camcorder as a source, live or on tape playback, in HD or SD.
The HV40 does output correctly to an HD TV, an HD projector and other devices. My Video Assist 4K does accept HDMI (complete with audio) from other cameras I have tested, and it is happy to accept HDV footage from other cameras via SDI. Any suggestions to help the BMVA 4K see the HV40?
Last edited by Colin McDonald on Fri Mar 10, 2017 11:14 am, edited 1 time in total.
Offline

Denny Smith

  • Posts: 6763
  • Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2013 4:19 pm
  • Location: USA, Northern Calif.

Re: Canon HV40 HDMI output not recognised BMVA 4K

PostFri Mar 10, 2017 2:50 am

When you connect the camera to a HDTV, what is the signal output shown? Sony specifications state output is NTSC, but does not give resolution. VA can only deal with 525i59.94 SD, not 480i59.94.
Denny Smith
SHA Productions
Offline

Colin McDonald

  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2017 10:09 pm
  • Location: UK

Re: Canon HV40 HDMI output not recognised BMVA 4K

PostFri Mar 10, 2017 7:56 am

Thanks, Denny. I'm not getting too much info from the HV40 when connected to a (Samsung) HD TV other than "HDMI out 1920 x 1080i" – no frame rate. However, and I realise now that it would have been helpful to have stated this in the original post, it is a PAL camcorder, so 50 fps I would think.
It doesn't help to switch the HV40 between 50i and 25p (which might be Canon's slighty quirky version of progressive HDV anyway, or was that only on the 3CCD cameras?).
I am now wondering if this is likely to be a PAL/NTSC issue.
Offline

Denny Smith

  • Posts: 6763
  • Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2013 4:19 pm
  • Location: USA, Northern Calif.

Re: Canon HV40 HDMI output not recognised by BMVA 4K

PostSat Mar 11, 2017 6:35 am

If it is a PAL camcorder, and you set the output to 1080p, it will output 1080p50 only, not 1080p25. The camera, according to Canon, the camera will also output 1080i50 and 720p50/60. The frame rate for 1080i is always 50 (for PAL) and 59.94 (NTSC).
See the last three posts in: viewtopic.php?f=18&t=56949&p=328574#p328574
Cheers
Last edited by Denny Smith on Thu Apr 27, 2017 11:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Denny Smith
SHA Productions
Offline

Colin McDonald

  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2017 10:09 pm
  • Location: UK

Re: Canon HV40 HDMI output not recognised by BMVA 4K

PostSat Mar 11, 2017 1:59 pm

Thanks again, Denny. So the HV40 is outputting 1080i 50fps which is on the list of supported HDMI input formats for the Video Assist 4K.

I'm still wondering why the BMVA 4K can't see the HV40. This camera (introduced 2009) was a minor upgrade to the HV30 which was introduced in 2008 if that has any bearing on the version of HDMI with which it might be fitted (v1.3?).

Is the Video Assist 4K a bit fussy about its HDMI input version, and is that something which could be addressed in a future software update?
Offline
User avatar

rick.lang

  • Posts: 7304
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 5:41 pm
  • Location: Victoria BC Canada

Re: Canon HV40 HDMI output not recognised by BMVA 4K

PostThu Apr 20, 2017 10:11 pm

The BMVA4K will record HD video in 1080i50, but it may be expecting real HD, i.e. 1920x1080i50. The HV cameras are all using HDV which is 1440x1080i50 in PAL countries. 720p or a PAL version of that (625p?) may work though.

Even DaVinci Resolve no longer accepts HDV video since version 9 and possibly earlier. I could use an early version 8 of Resolve for HDV video, but after an upgrade years ago, it was no longer supported.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Rick Lang
Offline

Colin McDonald

  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2017 10:09 pm
  • Location: UK

Re: Canon HV40 HDMI output not recognised by BMVA 4K

PostThu Apr 27, 2017 10:28 pm

Thanks, Rick.
I believe from posts elsewhere that the HV40 outputs the full 1920 x 1080 from the sensor through the HDMI (the HDV signal is only produced in camera for recording to tape). As I will be capturing a live signal and not one peviously recorded to tape, the HDV standard should not come in to play here.
The BM VideoAssist 4K is the only device I have encountered so far which does not accept the HDMI signal from the HV40.
Offline

Denny Smith

  • Posts: 6763
  • Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2013 4:19 pm
  • Location: USA, Northern Calif.

Re: Canon HV40 HDMI output not recognised by BMVA 4K

PostThu Apr 27, 2017 11:16 pm

Colin, you might have an issue with the VA 4K, is,your HDMI cable a new one, sometimes oldear cables can cause a connection issue with the VA, even though they will work direct to a TV monitor.

If the cable is a new high bandwidth cable, then I would cintaxtmBM Support for a RMA, and let them check out the VA to see if the issue is with the VA.
Cheers
Denny Smith
SHA Productions
Offline
User avatar

rick.lang

  • Posts: 7304
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 5:41 pm
  • Location: Victoria BC Canada

Canon HV40 HDMI output not recognised by BMVA 4K

PostFri Apr 28, 2017 2:00 pm

Colin, took a look in the manual. It may not say 1920x1080, but it is implied:

"About the HDMI terminal The HDMI (High-Definition Multimedia Interface) connection –connection type convenient all-digital connection using a single cable for both video and audio. When you connect the camcorder to an HDTV equipped with an HDMI terminal, you can enjoy video and audio playback at the highest quality."

I believe I do have a quality HDMI cable since the package said something like "high speed" so I could try to hook my Canon HV20 up to the HDTV. The TV is older and likely only accepts a 1080i59.94 signal, not 1080p29.97 signal, but that's probably what the HV20 sends anyway so I'll be fine. Don't have a BM Video Assist to test on though which would prove it is 1920x1080.

For all I know the Samsung HDTV might take 1440x1080 and expand it to fill my HDTV screen, so I can't be 100% sure of that resolution until you verify it.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Rick Lang

Return to Getting Started

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests