Canon XH-G1 with Video Assist

Getting started with a Blackmagic product? Ask questions here about setup and installation.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Aaron Falvey

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2017 12:45 am

Canon XH-G1 with Video Assist

PostWed Mar 15, 2017 12:50 am

Hi Everyone.

I own a Canon XH-G1 (not to be confused with the cheaper XH-A1) camera. I am wondering whether this camera is compatible with the 1080P Blackmagic Video Assist? My camera has an SDI HD Output and I want to check if this will work allowing me to bypass the mini-dv tape recording system? Has anyone tried this as I am also interested in the results produced if it does work?

The spec sheet for my camera is:
https://si.ua.es/es/lccm/documentos/av- ... -xh-a1.pdf

Any help appreciated :)

Aaron
Offline

Colin McDonald

  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2017 10:09 pm
  • Location: UK

Re: Canon XH-G1 with Video Assist

PostWed Mar 15, 2017 10:26 pm

HiAaron,
If it's any help, I recently acquired the Video Assist 4K and it works well with the XH-G1S. So, not quite the same Video Assist and not quite the same camera – still, nearly there :)
Offline

Denny Smith

  • Posts: 6072
  • Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2013 4:19 pm
  • Location: USA, Northern Calif.

Re: Canon XH-G1 with Video Assist

PostThu Mar 16, 2017 12:43 am

Should work, as the VA will record 1080i 50/59.94/60, and the Canon will output HDV: 1080i/60i, 1080i/30f, 1080i/24f. The VA however, will not record the lower frame rates 30f, and 24f. Nor are you going to be able to record progressive, since camera is an Interlace sensor/signal camera.
You can check the camera's SDI output by connecting it to a SDI monitor and checking to see what the monitor shows as the connection signal.

The XH G1l like the other XL series cameras were nice cameras in their day. But they have passed their "sell by" date. It is still an Interlaced broadcast style HDV signal, whichmis not as high a resolution as full HD progressive camera. Not sure I would invest $500 more in one. You could get the VA HD (5-inch) recorder/monitor, use it with the Canon camera, then later upgrade to a BM Micro Cinema camera or Micro Studio 4K camera (which is also a Rec 709 output camera with great color saturation) to use with the VA.
Cheers
Denny Smith
SHA Productions
Offline

Colin McDonald

  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2017 10:09 pm
  • Location: UK

Re: Canon XH-G1 with Video Assist

PostThu Mar 16, 2017 1:14 pm

Denny, I hesitate to question on a small point of detail, but is it accurate to say that "It is still an Interlaced broadcast style HDV signal..." if the tape section is bypassed altogether?

The XHG1 documentation states:
The HD-SDI output provides a 1.485Gbps 60i signal at 1920 x 1080 resolution and with 4:2:2 color sampling with embedded audio and time code.

I thought HDV was 1440 × 1080 4:2:0 at 25Mbs ? Fair enough if the source was tape playback.

I certainly wouldn't disagree that these cameras are getting a bit past it. :D
I'm hanging on to a couple of HDV cameras because of a large tape archive, but things have moved on a bit.
Offline
User avatar

Xtreemtec

  • Posts: 917
  • Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:48 am
  • Location: The Netherlands

Re: Canon XH-G1 with Video Assist

PostThu Mar 16, 2017 2:49 pm

I have this combo.. 5" VA.. It works perfectly fine.. G1 will output 1920x1080 i50 Which works fine for the VA..

HDV has a different resolution but the internal processing does 16:9 HD.. But due to the limitation of the Capability of the DV tapes (They could not get all the data on it to get 1920) so HDV was a crop standard..
Daniel Wittenaar .:: Xtreemtec Media Productions ::. -= www.xtreemtec.nl =-
4K OBV, ATEM TVS HD, Production Studio 4K, 2M/E Broadcast Studio 4K, Hyperdeck Studio, SONY FS7 4K, JVC HM700 Full HD Camera
Offline

Denny Smith

  • Posts: 6072
  • Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2013 4:19 pm
  • Location: USA, Northern Calif.

Re: Canon XH-G1 with Video Assist

PostThu Mar 16, 2017 4:42 pm

Thank, yes, the output would still be 1920x1080 but it will be 8-bit, 4.2.0 Interlaced at best case.
My point is, not as "high a resolution" signal overall, as a 1920x1080 10-bit, 4.2.2 progressive signal, as their is some resolution loss in the Interlace signal.
Cheeers
Denny Smith
SHA Productions
Offline

Denny Smith

  • Posts: 6072
  • Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2013 4:19 pm
  • Location: USA, Northern Calif.

Re: Canon XH-G1 with Video Assist

PostThu Mar 16, 2017 4:43 pm

Thank, yes, the output would still be 1920x1080 but it will be 8-bit, 4.2.0 Interlaced at best case.
My point is, not as "high a resolution" signal overall, as a 1920x1080 10-bit, 4.2.2 progressive signal, as their is some resolution loss in the Interlace signal.
Cheers
Denny Smith
SHA Productions

Return to Getting Started

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests