New Setup for a Newbie

Getting started with a Blackmagic product? Ask questions here about setup and installation.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

renderclipps

  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: Sun Mar 03, 2013 6:56 am

New Setup for a Newbie

PostFri Mar 08, 2013 1:46 pm

Hi All

After deciding to go for the BMD setup over Tricaster. These are the units I intend to purchase for small TV studio setup and onsite visual mixing setup (with other analog video mixing equipment).

ATEM TVStudio
Smart Videohub
HyperDeck Studio
SmartView Duo
Broadcast Converter (already own)
Mini Converter Analog to SDI x2
Mini Converter Sync Generator
H.264 Pro Recorder (already own)

Non BMD gear

CASE
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/2 ... _Rack.html

SSD
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/8 ... D_840.html

Cables
The cheapest cables I could find were $20 for 3' is that correct or am I searching for the wrong cables..
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/search?at ... Connectors

Cameras
Various consumer cameras
Canon HF M31 x2
Sony HXR-MC50U
Sony HDR CX110 X2

Am I in the right direction with my choices? Do I need the sync generator?
Any advice appreciated.
Thanks
Offline

Scott B

  • Posts: 78
  • Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2012 7:43 pm

Re: New Setup for a Newbie

PostSat Mar 09, 2013 2:07 am

A couple of questions. What are you going to use the Smart video hub for? With a setup this small, do you really need to spend an extra $1900 for routing of 4 inputs? I don't think you will need a sync generator either, the ATEM can handle unsynced sources.

also on the gator case, buy the one with out the power supply, its a lot cheaper and less expensive, you can get a rack mount power strip anywhere for less. for cables check out PI manufacturing, super cheap on there.

you are basically building the exact system i built for my live boxing and MMA, but i use the ATEM 1M/E. Below are some pictures of a system i just built for my day job. Uses a ATEM 1ME, 17 in BM monitor for multi viewer, Aja Ki Pro to record, Smart view dog for program and aja monitor, Telex 2 channel comm system for camera ops and IFB for talent. on the rear all connections are hooked to a blank panel to plug any input directly in, never have to touch the interior of case.I used neutrik connectors for the rear.

Check out this other thread, i posted a picture of my original system in the same gator case as yours. I have added the hyper deck studio into the front as well as a telex base station, same as my other unit.
viewtopic.php?f=4&t=1221&start=10


image.jpeg
image.jpeg (543.14 KiB) Viewed 866 times


image.jpeg
image.jpeg (543.14 KiB) Viewed 866 times
Attachments
photo6.JPG
photo6.JPG (607.27 KiB) Viewed 866 times
Offline

renderclipps

  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: Sun Mar 03, 2013 6:56 am

Re: New Setup for a Newbie

PostSat Mar 09, 2013 6:50 am

Thats so cool
Makes so much sense to drop the video hub and upgrade to the ATEM 1 M/E instead.
Plus I save an extra $800 if I lose the sync generator and one convertors as the 1 M/E already has an analog convertor.
You've also given me the idea to make my own patch panel using this
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/7 ... Panel.html
in conjunction with these...
http://www.pimfg.com/Product-Detail/XLR-PN-3S-BK
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/8 ... apter.html
I had no idea which bnc connectors to use for HD-SDI so I'm waiting for a reply from PI manufacturing for advice. WOW you're right their cables are dirt cheap.

Do the devices get hot? Is it worth adding a fan to the case?

I love MMA, so much that we made a show about it but it's not actually MMA, this show is about grappling but hopefully one day we'll film a propa MMA fight
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2yYxp2uvHHA

But seeing your setup it's so cool and I'm so duncy that I didn't think about adding equipment to both the back and front of the rack. This will free up more rack space so I'm adding a drawer for cables and tools etc.
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/5 ... cking.html

Thanks again for the advice
Offline

Scott B

  • Posts: 78
  • Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2012 7:43 pm

Re: New Setup for a Newbie

PostSat Mar 09, 2013 7:11 am

I hate using solder type XLR connectors, i used these in my racks.

http://www.vadcon.com/co/xlr-apm.html

When i first got my personal unit, it did get quite hot. I added a fan above it and it helped stop the some time random blanking of he multiviewer. I also heard that they units dissipate heat through the cables, so i hooked up all the cables and have never had any heat issues since.
Offline

renderclipps

  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: Sun Mar 03, 2013 6:56 am

Re: New Setup for a Newbie

PostSat Mar 09, 2013 1:36 pm

I hear you.
I found this on the site too
http://www.vadcon.com/pp/ppd8-bcjjr.html
it's the only set of panels I could find on the net that actually uses BNC HD-SDI connectors.
I won't be purchasing until May, so I can only drool til then
I've also been corresponding on another forum about the same topic, they basically made the same suggestions as you.
http://www.atemuser.com/forums/atem-vis ... tup-newbie
I'm lucky to have found 2 excellent forums
Big thanks again
Offline

Scott B

  • Posts: 78
  • Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2012 7:43 pm

Re: New Setup for a Newbie

PostSat Mar 09, 2013 8:18 pm

i made my own patch panel as i have older analog cameras, JVC GHD200. I use the componenet out and send via component cables to my custom made patch panel, then to my analog to SDi converters into the switcher.

I used a standard 1 RU blank panel, drilled holes in it and used washers i got from home depot. Spray painted them Red, green, blue and yellow. each camera plugs into a set of R,G,B colored BNC bulkhead mounted on the colored washer and panel. I also used yellow washers to indicated some composite outs from a DA i have in the rack. Blue were used to indicated aux 1-3 out, HD-SDI out, and SD-SDI out.

you can find canare HD-SDI bNC bulkheads here.
http://www.vadcon.com/co/bnc-apm-bcjjr.html

Or look on markerteks website. I juat bought one from there with 16 HD-SDI bnc pre-mounted.
Attachments
photo.JPG
photo.JPG (653.6 KiB) Viewed 819 times
Offline

renderclipps

  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: Sun Mar 03, 2013 6:56 am

Re: New Setup for a Newbie

PostSat Mar 09, 2013 9:34 pm

The panel seems ideal. Before leaving for a job I could set up the patch cables inside the case so I won't have to open it on-site.
Excellent
Offline

Scott B

  • Posts: 78
  • Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2012 7:43 pm

Re: New Setup for a Newbie

PostSun Mar 10, 2013 1:22 am

If you can afford it, put an input and an output on the panel for each in and out, nothing is more annoying on location to have to open it up and re-wire things. plus the more you reach in and move things around, the more chance you might mess something up inside.

I even put a USB and ethernet jack on the back panel, that way i literally dont ever have to mess with the inside.
Offline

renderclipps

  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: Sun Mar 03, 2013 6:56 am

Re: New Setup for a Newbie

PostTue Mar 12, 2013 10:52 pm

Offline

renderclipps

  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: Sun Mar 03, 2013 6:56 am

Re: New Setup for a Newbie

PostTue Mar 12, 2013 10:55 pm

Scott
I went for a case with shock mountings, I'm just to scared with all that expensive equipment in there for it to get damaged
Offline

Mike Squires

  • Posts: 791
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 4:58 pm

Re: New Setup for a Newbie

PostTue Mar 12, 2013 11:46 pm

I'd also add the caster wheels for that case also:

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/2 ... r_Kit.html

Return to Getting Started

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 9 guests