No Remote- Intensity Shuttle with SVHS

Getting started with a Blackmagic product? Ask questions here about setup and installation.
  • Author

Andria Morales

No Remote- Intensity Shuttle with SVHS

PostWed Jun 21, 2017 8:10 pm

Hello,

I'm a beginner with an Intensity Shuttle USB 3.0 and a JVC SR-V101US SVHS player with built in TBC, connected via S-Video cable. My goal is to use this setup to convert VHS tapes to digital Quicktime files so that the clips can be used in a feature length documentary.

I've got the S-Video cable plugged into the S-Video Out port on the back of the SVHS, going into the S-Video In port on the Shuttle. The Shuttle is plugged into a USB port on my 27-inch iMac (3.2 GHz Intel Core i5/ 16GB 1600 MHZ DDR3/ OS X 10.10.5).

Blackmagic Desktop Video Setup detects the Shuttle with S Video input. I selected NTSC for the Output Format (I could use some advice on this).
Screenshot 2017-06-21 15.41.20.png
Screenshot 2017-06-21 15.41.20.png (77.45 KiB) Viewed 3691 times

In Media Express I selected NTSC for Project Video Format and Quicktime Uncompressed 9-bit YUV for Capture File format. (I could also use some advice on this)
Screenshot 2017-06-21 15.41.00.png
Screenshot 2017-06-21 15.41.00.png (113.35 KiB) Viewed 3691 times

Media Express does not detect the Shuttle, and in the Log and Capture tab I see it says "No Remote."
Screenshot 2017-06-21 15.40.16.png
Screenshot 2017-06-21 15.40.16.png (120.37 KiB) Viewed 3691 times

What am I doing wrong? Is the TBC on this "prosumer" SVHS simply not good enough, or is there something wrong with my settings?

Any guidance would be much appreciated!

Denny Smith

Re: No Remote- Intensity Shuttle with SVHS

PostThu Jun 22, 2017 5:44 am

No, the SVHS deck does not have a true TBC, as such, that will allow you to capture video directly from the player to a computer video card, like the Intensity Shuttle. You will need a real separate broadcast type TBS. This has been discussed many times here: