New to BM family and a little lost

Getting started with a Blackmagic product? Ask questions here about setup and installation.
  • Author

Piotr Poznanski

New to BM family and a little lost

PostTue Oct 31, 2017 12:08 am

Hello everyone,

Im completely new to the BM family of products and only fresh green when it comes to streaming.
And I am a little lost on to what works with what.

Im considering getting two or three of micro studio 4k cameras. I teach people drawing so:

I need one shot for showing what i draw on my desk (sometimes very close details from 4 inches close, and sometimes i need to show whole A4 page from above of 1-2 feet high - so I also need a lens suggestion) and second shot for showing myself when i talk. third optional camera would be for either macro up close shots of different drawing materials or other usage. Im getting three cameras in a cheap 50% off bundle.

I need to shoot both video for my video courses - thats why 4k. And also for streaming fb live as a marketing doing regular weekly show and for doing online courses.

what else would i need for doing facebook live and for recording lessons for later products.
From what i see I would need Web Presenter. I could use that with a MacBook for recording and for fb live at the same time?

What kind of MacBook is recommended? What kind of Pc?

Xtreemtec

Re: New to BM family and a little lost

PostWed Nov 01, 2017 11:17 am

The Web presenter outputs 720P. So no 4K recording there..

If you really need 4K recording you will need 3x recorder which are capable of 4K recording.. Like the Video Assist 7" or Hyperdeck studio 4K.

But if you want to do a live show live switched.. You will need a 4K video mixer. And 1 recorder should be fine then. ;)

But you really want to rethink your stragety.. Do you really need 4K? Is it worth 3K extra investement over HD?