SDI Cable help

Getting started with a Blackmagic product? Ask questions here about setup and installation.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Adrian Hughes

  • Posts: 11
  • Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2017 2:22 pm

SDI Cable help

PostTue Nov 07, 2017 1:31 am

Hi all,


I am looking at ordering a lot of cable for distribution for video side of what we do.

I did post if its worth using HDbaseT vs SDI on my original post, and yet to have a reply - so I am still looking at the SDI side of things.

Can someone advise the best SDI cable to get in the UK please. I will be buying the Mini convertors 4k or micro and the splitters too from BlackMagic design.

I am looking at cables from VDC in the UK.

They do various ones. I did try to post a link, but not allowed to on the forum, but if you do a search for VDC SDI cable 50m, it shows it in the google search.
VDC SDI 50m


Thanks in advance for the help.
Offline

Asgeir Hustad

  • Posts: 35
  • Joined: Tue Sep 26, 2017 10:13 am

Re: SDI Cable help

PostWed Nov 08, 2017 7:56 am

Have a look at Belden's cable chart - available in PDF here from some googling:
Belden.PNG
Belden chart
Belden.PNG (90.66 KiB) Viewed 459 times


(https://info.belden.com/hubfs/resources ... lletin.pdf)

... or by registering here http://info.belden.com/ecos/video-distance-chart.

1694a is the standard for broadcast in most projects I've seen. Be aware that many vendors now officially say that they can receive HD-SDI data over far more than Beldens official specs for 1694a. For example, TI's newest chip (LMH1219) says it has a reach of 280 meters for standard HD-SDI, and over 200 meters for 3G-SDI for the same cable.

In general, 90/100m over 1694a is not a problem with ATEMs, at least for 1080i / 720p (which is all I've tried).
Offline

Adrian Hughes

  • Posts: 11
  • Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2017 2:22 pm

Re: SDI Cable help

PostWed Nov 08, 2017 4:20 pm

Hi ya,

Thank you so much for this.

I have spoken toe VDC who distribute this cable and can do deals in the UK.

They have the 1694a in stock. I have asked for some 50 lengths done and I will use them on a cable drum, but they have said 50m is too much for a drum ?

And best to do them in possible 30m lengths?

Any advice on sizes!!!? thanks
Offline
User avatar

Xtreemtec

  • Posts: 1567
  • Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:48 am
  • Location: The Netherlands

Re: SDI Cable help

PostFri Nov 10, 2017 12:38 pm

50m to large for a drum? A standard drum will hold 100 meters 1694 or microphone cable..
Daniel Wittenaar .:: Xtreemtec Media Productions ::. -= www.xtreemtec.nl =-
4K OBV, ATEM TVS HD, Production Studio 4K, 2M/E Broadcast Studio 4K, Hyperdeck Studio, SONY FS7 4K, JVC HM700 Full HD Camera
Offline
User avatar

Thomas Seewald

  • Posts: 1047
  • Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2012 11:57 am

Re: SDI Cable help

PostFri Nov 10, 2017 1:06 pm

50m to large for a drum? A standard drum will hold 100 meters 1694 or microphone cable..


+1

Of course !!!!
thos-berlin - Thomas S e e w a l d
Offline

Adrian Hughes

  • Posts: 11
  • Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2017 2:22 pm

Re: SDI Cable help

PostFri Nov 10, 2017 8:45 pm

haha!

Well I ordered a few 50m and 30s and 10s and 2m and couplers!

Looking forward to using them

Got some cable drums on the way also.


Thanks guys for the info

Return to Getting Started

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Hersh Burston and 14 guests