Blown SDI repair

Getting started with a Blackmagic product? Ask questions here about setup and installation.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

CliveWill

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2017 7:37 am

Blown SDI repair

PostSun Nov 12, 2017 1:52 pm

Hi all

from the reading I have done, I believe that my rear SDI output is blown. I am using the URSA 4k V1. I had a BM4k VA attached to it. I was using SWIT v-mount battery and d-tap for VA. I had never heard of this shorting and blowing issue before. The front SDI port seems fine. my 5" VA is getting a picture from it. The rear not so much. Although both VA's will shown and HDMI signal, the 4K VA seems to not show any SDI input. This leads me to believe it may have blown at the same time. The camera seems to be working fine, in all other departments. I am wanting to know how big a repair job this is? what kind of cost. Is it even worth it, or should I just shoot on cards from here on out and not worry about a SDI output!!!?????? thanks
Offline

Denny Smith

  • Posts: 6957
  • Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2013 4:19 pm
  • Location: USA, Northern Calif.

Re: Blown SDI repair

PostMon Nov 13, 2017 6:44 pm

Sorry for your loss, this is why you do Not connect a camera and monitor to the same power source without using a battery distribution system that isolates the two power outputs from each other to prevent ground fault shorts. Also, it is a good practice to connect all SDI cables Bfore powering up the equipment, another possible ground short issue.

You will need to contact BM Supoirt direct about any repairs and the associated costs.
Cheers
Denny Smith
SHA Productions

Return to Getting Started

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests