Help! Unable to get HDMI input on new Shuttle Thunderbolt

Getting started with a Blackmagic product? Ask questions here about setup and installation.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Peter Korn

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Thu Dec 28, 2017 8:36 pm

Help! Unable to get HDMI input on new Shuttle Thunderbolt

PostFri Dec 29, 2017 10:48 pm

Help!

I just purchased a brand new Intensity Shuttle Thunderbolt. Installed Desktop Video 10.9.9 onto both a MacBook Pro Retina 13" 2015 with MacOS 10.11.6, and a MacBook Pro 15" 2016 with MacOS 10.13.2 (via the Apple Thunderbolt 3->2 adapter). In both cases, I am able to power the device (I see the little white LED around the Thunderbolt connector on device), System Profiler sees the device (see output below), and both Desktop Video Setup and Media Express are able to connect to it.

HOWEVER, I am unable to get any content to either be captured from HDMI (my only video source to hand) by Media Express or Adobe Premier CC 2018, nor will video pass through the device and on to a monitor (I only get a black screen). I can send HDMI directly to that monitor. HDMI sources I've tried include my Fire TV, Fire TV Stick, and the other MacBook Pro (either direct HDMI output, or via the Thunderbolt 3->HDMI adapter that I have).

HELP!

======== System Profiler output from 2016 MacBook Pro, Thunderbolt Bus 0 ========

Intensity Shuttle TB:

Vendor Name: Blackmagic Design
Device Name: Intensity Shuttle TB
Vendor ID: 0x4
Device ID: 0xA126
Device Revision: 0x1
UID: 0x00040000008D8640
Route String: 3
Firmware Version: 5.2
Port (Upstream):
Status: Device connected
Link Status: 0x2
Speed: Up to 10 Gb/s x1
Port Micro Firmware Version: 0.2.5
Cable Firmware Version: 1.0.16
Cable Serial Number: C4M722500SJF798AE
Offline

Denny Smith

  • Posts: 9449
  • Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2013 4:19 pm
  • Location: USA, Northern Calif.

Re: Help! Unable to get HDMI input on new Shuttle Thunderbol

PostWed Jan 03, 2018 9:05 pm

Those video content sources are copy protected, and can not be displayed via a capture card.
You need to get a signal from a video deck, or camera, not from DVD, or sources like Fire TV.
DS
Denny Smith
SHA Productions
Offline
User avatar

Xtreemtec

  • Posts: 2827
  • Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:48 am
  • Location: The Netherlands

Re: Help! Unable to get HDMI input on new Shuttle Thunderbol

PostWed Jan 03, 2018 10:38 pm

Well it looks like your unit is working perfectly fine.
But i have to add some info. For starters.. The HDMI IN > OUT is not a loop trough! It is a seperated input and output which can be used for capture and playback. ;)

Second you may not input content that is HDCP protected. Fire TV (stick) can easily have this issue.

Third: The maximum input resolution of the Shuttle is 1080P30 or 1080i60. Both your fire tv and Mac will output 1080P60 which is not supported by this device.

Try to connect your other mac or even the output of this mac. But change the output resolution to 1280x720 ;) I guess you will see a picture now. :)
Daniel Wittenaar .:: Xtreemtec Media Productions ::. -= www.xtreemtec.nl =-
4K OBV, ATEM TVS HD, 1M/E 4K, 2M/E Broadcast Studio 4K, Hyperdeck Studio Mini, SONY FS7 4K, Ursa Broadcast 4K
Offline

Peter Korn

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Thu Dec 28, 2017 8:36 pm

Re: Help! Unable to get HDMI input on new Shuttle Thunderbol

PostThu Jan 04, 2018 3:36 am

Xtreemtec,

Thanks for your detailed suggestions. Alas... they aren't working. Connecting the Mac with HDMI output (Retina 13" from 2015), I see the "BMD HDMI" video device. Configuring that for 720p (or 1080i or 1600x900 - covering all bases), using Media Express to capture content, I still only capture a black screen.

Any other suggestions?

Peter

Return to Getting Started

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests