Capturing a Nexus 4 via Slimport into Intensity Pro

Getting started with a Blackmagic product? Ask questions here about setup and installation.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Bridger

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2013 5:07 pm

Capturing a Nexus 4 via Slimport into Intensity Pro

PostSat Apr 13, 2013 5:16 pm

I've been banging my head all day on this problem. I have a slimport adapter for my Nexus 4 phone. It allows the phone to output via HDMI. I plug that setup into my HDTV and it works great. 1080p 60hz and no issues.

I plug the same thing into my Intensity Pro card (latest Drivers) and I get nothing but a black screen in Media Express. I've tried changing the project settings a dozen times. I've tried changing the "default resolution" in the control panel a dozen times. I've tried pulling it out and resetting the connection each time. I have had nothing but black all morning.

Just in case it was the card I pluged a DVI->HDMI cable from one of my computers into the intensity and after a bit of coaxing I got a fine signal at 1080i. I can't for the life of me figure out why the phone won't send the signal correctly. My only thought is that the phone is (for some reason) sending a 1080p 60hz signal (instead of 30hz) which I believe the Intensity pro cannot capture? But If it is doing that, I have no idea why. Shouldn't it be interfacing with the card and finding the proper resolution? There is no setting on the phone that will allow me to change the output. It's just suposed to auto-detect and plug and play, but that doesn't seem to be the case.

Any thoughts?
Offline

mjgraves

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Fri May 24, 2013 3:36 pm

Re: Capturing a Nexus 4 via Slimport into Intensity Pro

PostFri May 24, 2013 3:43 pm

I have this very same problem. By connecting the SlimPort directly to a monitor I can confirm that the video stream is 1080p60, which is not available in the BMD software.

It bears investigation to see if the Android device can downgrade its output to the more modest 1080p30.
Offline
User avatar

MartinCaine

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Mon May 27, 2013 3:24 pm
  • Location: Wakefield, England

Re: Capturing a Nexus 4 via Slimport into Intensity Pro

PostMon May 27, 2013 3:49 pm

Just to add to this. I've also noticed the same behaviour and the Nexus 4 does output 1080p60.

I had even read somewhere that the Intensity Pro is capable of recording 1080p60 but that it was disabled (or should I say the feature is not exposed) in the drivers. This was previously explained to be a design choice since PCs were not fast enough to record at that resolution and framerate but now with RAID arrays made up of SSDs are relatively cheap we can expect to be able to record 1080p60 just fine.
Offline

Adam Simmons

  • Posts: 5510
  • Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2013 4:21 pm
  • Location: UK

Re: Capturing a Nexus 4 via Slimport into Intensity Pro

PostMon May 27, 2013 8:19 pm

Like a lot of other devices I suspect the output is HDCP protected which means if it is then the BM devices can't capture it. Also like you've noticed the Intensity can't do 1080p60
DVC Built Clevo P775DM3-G Laptop with UHD screen, 7700K CPU@4.9Ghz, Geforce GTX 1060 6GB GPU, G-Sync UHD screen, 500GB M.2 Primary, 1x 480GB SSD, 1x1TB M.2, 1x 2TB Video drives.
Building Bespoke Video Editing systems for over 16 years
Offline

Spittal

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2013 12:22 am

Re: Capturing a Nexus 4 via Slimport into Intensity Pro

PostThu Aug 15, 2013 12:24 am

Hey!

I'm having the same problem. If any one figures out how to get this slimport to output 1080p30 that would be fantastic! All the cards that can record 1080p60 are way too expensive.
Offline
User avatar

Liam Kennedy

  • Posts: 2110
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 5:52 am
  • Location: Pasadena, CA

Re: Capturing a Nexus 4 via Slimport into Intensity Pro

PostThu Aug 15, 2013 1:58 am

See the prior post regarding HDCP. If that is the case.. it doesn't matter what the signal format is... none of the Blackmagic products will ever be able to record it.
ATEM 1/ME, TVS, Hyperdeck Studio, Fujitsu Lifebook NH751 USB3
Offline

Adam Simmons

  • Posts: 5510
  • Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2013 4:21 pm
  • Location: UK

Re: Capturing a Nexus 4 via Slimport into Intensity Pro

PostThu Aug 15, 2013 5:05 am

On a side note, the Physical card of the Intensity Pro may well have the capabilities to capture 1080p60 (but as BM haven't confirmed this no one actually knows), but the PCIex1 slot that it uses doesn't. PCIe (1 or 1.1) 1 times slot has a bandwidth of 250MB/s without any overheads. 1080p60 uncompressed 8bit uses approx 248-249MB/s and 10bit uses approx 311MB/s so it's a physical limitation of the PCIe slot itself. Now if they were to bring out a new model that was not compatible with PCIe 1 or 1.1 but only with 2 or 3 then that in theory would have the bandwidth to capture 1080p60
DVC Built Clevo P775DM3-G Laptop with UHD screen, 7700K CPU@4.9Ghz, Geforce GTX 1060 6GB GPU, G-Sync UHD screen, 500GB M.2 Primary, 1x 480GB SSD, 1x1TB M.2, 1x 2TB Video drives.
Building Bespoke Video Editing systems for over 16 years

Return to Getting Started

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Jay Soriano and 7 guests