Black Magic VA 4k doesn't see 24P while plugged in to AC

Getting started with a Blackmagic product? Ask questions here about setup and installation.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Anthony21

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2018 4:50 pm
  • Real Name: Anthony Bongiovi

Black Magic VA 4k doesn't see 24P while plugged in to AC

PostThu Nov 01, 2018 3:14 am

I recently purchased a Black magic Video Assist 4K and use it with my Nikon D500 and for some reason the VA won't see a 1080 24p picture. It was driving me nuts so I went to best buy to connect the VA to one of their display cameras and the picture popped right up on 24p no problem This led me to believe my D500 was the problem so now I had an excuse to upgrade to a D850 which I got today. First thing I did was check to see if the 1080 24p would output and nothing. WHY! the only thing different was I was on batteries at Best Buy so I tried that and the picture came up. It has periodic digital pixels popping up once in a while and also comes in and out as far as the source goes. Why won't it see 1080 24p on either camera when the VA is connected to AC power? it happens with other frame rates too like 25 and 30 fps but works with 50 and above including 4k 24. It makes no sense to me at all.

Thanks
Offline

Denny Smith

  • Posts: 9308
  • Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2013 4:19 pm
  • Location: USA, Northern Calif.

Re: Black Magic VA 4k doesn't see 24P while plugged in to AC

PostThu Nov 01, 2018 4:46 pm

Anthony, are you using the power cord/supply thst csme with the VA, or another switching power supply?
Try connecting a 12-16vdc battery to the power inout plug, if thst works, perhaps the 50Hz power connection is changing the VA’s base frequency and not allowing 60Hz frame rates?
Cheers
Denny Smith
SHA Productions
Offline

Anthony21

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2018 4:50 pm
  • Real Name: Anthony Bongiovi

Re: Black Magic VA 4k doesn't see 24P while plugged in to AC

PostFri Nov 02, 2018 4:42 pm

Denny Smith wrote:Anthony, are you using the power cord/supply thst csme with the VA, or another switching power supply?
Try connecting a 12-16vdc battery to the power inout plug, if thst works, perhaps the 50Hz power connection is changing the VA’s base frequency and not allowing 60Hz frame rates?
Cheers



Thanks for the response Denny. I am using the Black Magic Power supply. I tried doing what you suggested using a Walkart 14.4v battery plugged into the AC input of the VA, it gives my the same thing as being plugged into the AC outlet. It's weird that when I use the 2 LP-E6N's on the back of the VA it works. Another mind-bender is why it only effects the below formats.

1080 30p
1080 25p
1080 24p
720 60p
720 50p
Offline

Denny Smith

  • Posts: 9308
  • Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2013 4:19 pm
  • Location: USA, Northern Calif.

Re: Black Magic VA 4k doesn't see 24P while plugged in to AC

PostSat Nov 03, 2018 5:10 pm

Time to contact you regional BM Support Office, something is amiss! We have a 5-inch VA plugged in and it works at 1080p24/30 just fine. Try 1080p29.97 or 59.94 to see if it will work with standard Broadcast frame rates, assuming VA is set to 60Hz. If your mains is 50Hz, then set it for 50Hz and see if 1080p25/50 will work?
Cheers
Denny Smith
SHA Productions

Return to Getting Started

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 2 guests