Blackmagic Video Assist How To Disalbe Zebra

Getting started with a Blackmagic product? Ask questions here about setup and installation.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

ovideo

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2018 10:03 am
  • Real Name: andrea di carlo

Blackmagic Video Assist How To Disalbe Zebra

PostTue Dec 04, 2018 10:07 am

Hello
as title, i'd like to disable the zebra view on the video assist.
Someone could help me?
Offline

Brad Hurley

  • Posts: 485
  • Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2018 7:42 pm
  • Location: Montréal

Re: Blackmagic Video Assist How To Disalbe Zebra

PostThu Dec 06, 2018 3:07 pm

I have the 5" Video Assist not the 4K; you don't say which one you have, but here's how it works on the 5-inch:

In the top left of your screen you will see the word "Format." Just to the left of that is a little rectangle. Tap on that rectangle to open up the controls for zebra, focus assist, guides, grid, and false colour.

If that doesn't get rid of the zebras, your camera is not feeding clean video via HDMI and you will have to adjust your camera's settings instead.
Resolve 15, Mac Pro 3.0 GHz 8-core, 32 gigs RAM, dual AMD D700 GPU.
Audio I/O: Sound Devices USBPre-2
Offline

Sam Cole

  • Posts: 34
  • Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2015 10:13 pm

Re: Blackmagic Video Assist How To Disalbe Zebra

PostThu Dec 06, 2018 11:49 pm

Similar question - is there anyway to use either 5" or 7" video assist with NO overlays?
I want to use them as a viewfinder/recorder with a Micro Studio Camera and the overlays make it impossible to see the camera's menus.
Offline

Brad Hurley

  • Posts: 485
  • Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2018 7:42 pm
  • Location: Montréal

Re: Blackmagic Video Assist How To Disalbe Zebra

PostFri Dec 07, 2018 3:30 am

Sam Cole wrote:Similar question - is there anyway to use either 5" or 7" video assist with NO overlays?
I want to use them as a viewfinder/recorder with a Micro Studio Camera and the overlays make it impossible to see the camera's menus.


Yes, just swipe up from the bottom (or down from the top) to hide all overlays.
Resolve 15, Mac Pro 3.0 GHz 8-core, 32 gigs RAM, dual AMD D700 GPU.
Audio I/O: Sound Devices USBPre-2
Offline

Sam Cole

  • Posts: 34
  • Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2015 10:13 pm

Re: Blackmagic Video Assist How To Disalbe Zebra

PostFri Dec 07, 2018 6:38 am

Brad Hurley wrote:"Yes, just swipe up from the bottom (or down from the top) to hide all overlays."


I don't know what version you are running but your suggestion does not work for either my 5" or 7" Video Assist. I still have overlays all across the top and all across the bottom.
Offline
User avatar

Xtreemtec

  • Posts: 2827
  • Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:48 am
  • Location: The Netherlands

Re: Blackmagic Video Assist How To Disalbe Zebra

PostFri Dec 07, 2018 11:02 am

Are you sure the overlays are from the VA and not from the camera :P
Daniel Wittenaar .:: Xtreemtec Media Productions ::. -= www.xtreemtec.nl =-
4K OBV, ATEM TVS HD, 1M/E 4K, 2M/E Broadcast Studio 4K, Hyperdeck Studio Mini, SONY FS7 4K, Ursa Broadcast 4K
Offline

Brad Hurley

  • Posts: 485
  • Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2018 7:42 pm
  • Location: Montréal

Re: Blackmagic Video Assist How To Disalbe Zebra

PostFri Dec 07, 2018 2:53 pm

Sam Cole wrote:
Brad Hurley wrote:"Yes, just swipe up from the bottom (or down from the top) to hide all overlays."


I don't know what version you are running but your suggestion does not work for either my 5" or 7" Video Assist. I still have overlays all across the top and all across the bottom.


It is possible those are coming from the camera (you'll have fun fiddling with the Micro Camera's wee buttons to turn it off), but if not, try this: again press on that little rectangle in the top left corner, and then tap on Guides, turn off the guides, and then tap on Grid and turn off the grid. Now try swiping up from the bottom: you should get a totally blank screen. If you don't, your camera is sending those overlays, which you can change in the camera settings.
Resolve 15, Mac Pro 3.0 GHz 8-core, 32 gigs RAM, dual AMD D700 GPU.
Audio I/O: Sound Devices USBPre-2

Return to Getting Started

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests