Canon 5D IV and BM Video Assist question

Getting started with a Blackmagic product? Ask questions here about setup and installation.
  • Author

Wes Nicholson

Canon 5D IV and BM Video Assist question

PostTue Dec 18, 2018 5:58 pm

Hi everyone.
I've been a photographer on and off for the last 6 years but am now branching out into videography- to which I'm fairly new, but rapidly learning and buying the equipment needed.
I've just picked up my brand new Canon 5D4, with C-Log and knew about the crop factor issues with it when recording in 4K but I've always been Canon, so I stayed with what I knew and had the glass for.
I have recently bought a SMALLHD branded 5" touchscreen monitor too which I might be able to post back to the US where I bought it (unused/unpackaged) and buy a BM video assist monitor here if it will help me with how new I am to this and also editing.

The sales blurb on the main page states this:

--------------------------------------------------
DSLR Assist
Improve the quality
of your DSLR shots!
The latest full frame DSLR cameras used with high quality photo lenses can shoot incredible stills but the quality of the video recorded is limited by the heavily compressed formats they use. You can bypass the compression on your DSLR by connecting the HDMI output directly into Video Assist to record professional, broadcast quality 10-bit 4:2:2 ProRes and DNxHD video.
Plus, you get a much larger monitor than the DSLR’s small built in display so you can evaluate framing and focus with greater accuracy. Blackmagic Video Assist helps you get the best possible quality from your DSLR!
---------------------------------------------------

Does this mean that if I buy a BM monitor with video assist, I can possibly avoid the 4K cropping?
Will this change things with my camera being set up for C-Log? (I'm not sure what ProRes and DNxHD are compared to C-Log)

Any/all help and advice is highly appreciated.

Wes

Denny Smith