TVS - Video Capture and Streaming - 2 Questions

Getting started with a Blackmagic product? Ask questions here about setup and installation.
  • Author

Bob Walker

TVS - Video Capture and Streaming - 2 Questions

PostMon Sep 10, 2012 4:22 pm

First Q: I'm new to TVS, and found yesterday that with my set up (running through a not particularly powerful Win7 laptop - I don't have the specs here) I cannot both stream to Livestream and simultaneously capture the video output to the hard drive

Is this (a) working as designed, or (b) a function of computing power (cpu specs? memory? video card?) or (c) something else?

Will the forthcoming UltraStudio Mini Recorder be another possible solution?

Second Q: Running capture tests (we have SD cameras), in Capture Setup there is a setting slider for quality. Testing at various settings (100%, 50%, 20% and 10%) resulted in different file sizes* but no difference in quality of the images.

I didn't find any settings in Media Express which seem affect quality. I'm wondering if I am missing something? Or, as I suspect is likely, this is really an issue only for HD inputs?

= = = =
* For 1 minute of capture, without sound, the file sizes are, respectively 119MB (@100%); 76MB (@50%); 39MB (@20%); and 26MB (@10%)

Liam Kennedy

Re: TVS - Video Capture and Streaming - 2 Questions

PostMon Sep 10, 2012 4:39 pm

Well when you are streaming to livestream - their software can be configured to save the encoded video locally (I think by default it is). I agree however - it would be good if Media Express could also simultaneously save the original hardware encoded H.264 video direct from the TVS.
ATEM 1/ME, TVS, Hyperdeck Studio, Fujitsu Lifebook NH751 USB3

Joshua Helling

Blackmagic Design

PostThu Sep 20, 2012 5:42 am

Bob Walker wrote:Is this (a) working as designed, or (b) a function of computing power (cpu specs? memory? video card?) or (c) something else?

A. Yes
B. Software