Decklink 4K SDI not recognizing 4K input

Getting started with a Blackmagic product? Ask questions here about setup and installation.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

Justin Rapp

  • Posts: 32
  • Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2019 2:53 am
  • Location: Portland, Oregon
  • Real Name: Justin Rapp

Decklink 4K SDI not recognizing 4K input

PostThu Jan 31, 2019 5:34 am

I just installed a Decklink 4K SDI and I am testing it with a FS7 with an extension unit on the back. I’m able to get a clean 4K raw signal into an Odyssey 7Q but for some reason my decklink says that the input is only 1080p. If I open Media express to view the signal, it is completely messed up (See image) Image

The Decklink 4K SDI has no input settings I can change (except for hd/sd conversions)It is updated to the latest software/driver. I’m running a Windows 10 computer that can handle 4K raw no problem. I’m using a 6g SDI cable that carried the same working signal to the Odyssey 7Q...

Am I missing something? Am I doing something wrong?Or is this unit not working properly? It will recognize the 1080p and 2k signals out of the camera with no issue. It just wont do anything with the 4K.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Offline
User avatar

Justin Rapp

  • Posts: 32
  • Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2019 2:53 am
  • Location: Portland, Oregon
  • Real Name: Justin Rapp

Re: Decklink 4K SDI not recognizing 4K input

PostThu Jan 31, 2019 9:47 pm

I have conducted a couple more tests and maybe someone can help me interpret the results.

I tested the same FS7, extension unit, and 6g SDI cable on a Ultrastudio 4k with a different machine and it also only recognized the 4k as 1080p. I used a different FS7 with the same settings, same results, so I can rule out the FS7 being an issue.

I tested a C300 MkII with it’s 4K out, same results with the ultrastudio only recognizing the signal as 1080p, but an odyssey recognizing the same signal as 4k.

The only successful test I got was to output the 4K signal on the FS7 though the HDMI port, in which I had to restart the Ultrastudio for it even to recognize. This is keeping in mind that 4K only sends out of the extension unit on the FS7 as 4k Raw, the SDI port on cam only sends 1080.

So I guess my question is, why can’t the SDI on the Ultrastudio 4k or the Decklink 4k SDI recognize a 4K signal, either as UHD or 4K DCI? Also, I’ve been keeping the FPS at 23.97 to keep data size down.

Thoughts?

Is it due to it being raw? 4:4:4 perhaps?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Offline
User avatar

Jack Fairley

  • Posts: 1250
  • Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2016 7:58 pm
  • Location: Los Angeles

Re: Decklink 4K SDI not recognizing 4K input

PostThu Jan 31, 2019 10:23 pm

The 4K SDI module for the FS7 is not putting out a SMPTE standard 6G-SDI signal, but some kind of raw data signal that a recorder needs to be specifically designed to deal with.
Threadripper 1950X 3.7GHz
64GB DDR4-2666
2x GTX 1080 Ti
DeckLink 4K Extreme 12G
Resolve Studio 15.3.1
Windows 10 Pro 1803
Offline
User avatar

Xtreemtec

  • Posts: 3676
  • Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:48 am
  • Location: The Netherlands

Re: Decklink 4K SDI not recognizing 4K input

PostFri Feb 01, 2019 12:50 pm

True. The module only gives RAW. And this raw is not conform SMPTE standards. Sony did what it does best, create there own system that they can license..

FS7 4K Raw can only be read by 3 different units worldwide as far as i know, Atomos, Odyssey and the Sony 4K recorder made to work with this extender.

The only real 4K coming from a FS7 is HDMI 4K. :P
Daniel Wittenaar .:: Xtreemtec Media Productions ::. -= www.xtreemtec.nl =-
4K OBV Trailer, ATEM TVS HD, 1M/E 4K, 4M/E Broadcast Studio 4K, Hyperdeck Studio Mini, Ursa Broadcast 4K, 4K fiber converters with Sony Control
Offline
User avatar

Jack Fairley

  • Posts: 1250
  • Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2016 7:58 pm
  • Location: Los Angeles

Re: Decklink 4K SDI not recognizing 4K input

PostSat Feb 02, 2019 12:17 am

Xtreemtec wrote:True. The module only gives RAW. And this raw is not conform SMPTE standards. Sony did what it does best, create there own system that they can license..

FS7 4K Raw can only be read by 3 different units worldwide as far as i know, Atomos, Odyssey and the Sony 4K recorder made to work with this extender.

The only real 4K coming from a FS7 is HDMI 4K. :P

Sony style indeed... For what it's worth, the 4K HDMI output works fine. Depending on your use case, it may be possible to attach a 6G HDMI to SDI converter to the camera and work that way.
Threadripper 1950X 3.7GHz
64GB DDR4-2666
2x GTX 1080 Ti
DeckLink 4K Extreme 12G
Resolve Studio 15.3.1
Windows 10 Pro 1803
Offline
User avatar

Justin Rapp

  • Posts: 32
  • Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2019 2:53 am
  • Location: Portland, Oregon
  • Real Name: Justin Rapp

Re: Decklink 4K SDI not recognizing 4K input

PostSat Feb 02, 2019 1:25 am

Ah, that makes sense. I like the hdmi > SDI converter work around. I might do that or just stick with the ultrastudio I have access to. The converter though would allow for that longer SDI cable run so I won’t feel so tethered to the camera. Ha! There’s options.

Thanks Jack & Xtreemtec for your input.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Return to Getting Started

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests