Why Your Intensity Thunderbolt Not Connecting via USB-C

Getting started with a Blackmagic product? Ask questions here about setup and installation.
  • Author

James Roller

Why Your Intensity Thunderbolt Not Connecting via USB-C

PostWed May 22, 2019 12:11 pm

Hopefully, this will help some of you who are struggling to connect your Thunderbolt to your new MacBook or other USB-C based Mac.

Short answer:
You might just have the wrong cable. You need the Thunderbolt 3 (USB-C) to Thunderbolt 2 Adapter from Apple.

Longer answer:
When I got my new laptop in 2017, I was a bit put off by Apple's move to having only USB-C ports, but I also remember when they dropped the floppy. It is who Apple is, right?

Anyway, I purchased a multi-function dongle for most of my needs, but when it came time to connect my Intensity Thunderbolt to my new laptop (this is something I might need once or twice a year; I am a teacher and not in the video business), I realized I would need a new cable to make the connection.

I did my research and ended up purchasing what I thought was the right thing. That was a USB-C to Mini Display port connector.

I plugged it in, everything fit perfectly, I turned on the camera... and voila! Only there was no voila...

I couldn't figure it out and gave up.

As the need arose again recently when I was asked to stream our high school's graduation ceremony, I set back to work.

First I thought I had the wrong BM software. The new one I downloaded didn't seem the same as the old one I used that came with the IST.

Kept doing some research but there was simply nothing that was easy for me to find. I reached out to support, (who was helpful and pointed me in the right direction) but in the interim I went back to my Amazon order for the connector I purchased and read the Q&A on that product, searching for "BlackMagic" among the questions/comments.