Video Assist 4K Resolution Settings

Getting started with a Blackmagic product? Ask questions here about setup and installation.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

David Schwartz

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Fri Jul 12, 2019 5:03 am
  • Real Name: David Schwartz

Video Assist 4K Resolution Settings

PostSat Jul 13, 2019 6:04 pm

I'm testing out a Video Assist 4K with a Canon C200. I'm connecting via HDMI, and the output setting on the C200 is set to 3840x2160. I see an image on the monitor, but the Format display on the top left corner says 1080P. I'm using a card that is not rated for 2160. Is the card preventing the Video Assist 4K from switching to 2160? Even with no card inserted, I can't get the resolution to change.

If anybody with a similar setup could take a look at what happens when you have no card inserted, or a card not rated for 2160, I would appreciate it.

Thanks!
Offline

Denny Smith

  • Posts: 11429
  • Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2013 4:19 pm
  • Location: USA, Northern Calif.

Re: Video Assist 4K Resolution Settings

PostWed Jul 17, 2019 5:39 pm

No, your C200 is only outputting a 1080p signal via HDMI. The VA resolution is set by the resolution of the incoming signal. The VA4K does not up nor down scale a signal. ;)
Denny Smith
SHA Productions
Offline

David Schwartz

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Fri Jul 12, 2019 5:03 am
  • Real Name: David Schwartz

Re: Video Assist 4K Resolution Settings

PostTue Aug 13, 2019 5:03 am

Thanks, Denny. I found the cause of my problem. If the main recording format of the C200 is set to RAW, the HDMI output is limited to 1920x1080. If the main recording format is set to MP4 or XF-AVC, you can get 3840x2160 from the HDMI output.
Offline

Denny Smith

  • Posts: 11429
  • Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2013 4:19 pm
  • Location: USA, Northern Calif.

Re: Video Assist 4K Resolution Settings

PostTue Aug 13, 2019 5:09 pm

Great, glad you got it sorted. Most cameras that can record Raw, restrict the HDMI/SDAi output. The new BMD Pocket Cameras 4/6K also only output HD/1080p (designed as a monitoring option only) and the Nikon Z cameras can not record internally when set to NLog/Raw video output for recording to an external recorder. Camera processing power limitations create some of the restrictions.
Cheers
Denny Smith
SHA Productions

Return to Getting Started

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests