Intensity Shuttle help needed

Getting started with a Blackmagic product? Ask questions here about setup and installation.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

TassieDorn

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Tue Jul 02, 2019 7:34 am
  • Real Name: Duane Ellery

Intensity Shuttle help needed

PostMon Jul 22, 2019 7:41 am

Hi people,

I have purchased the Intensity Shuttle USB3.0 device to copy VHS tapes to PC.

I have installed the Blackmagic Desktop Video Setup software as well as the Blackmagic Media Express software, as well as the required drivers for the device.

I am running windows 10 1903, i5-7500, 16GB and plenty of HDD space. I also installed a USB 3.0 card with the required? Renesas chipset.

I have connected my Sony SLV-EZ725 Stereo VCR to the video in section of the Shuttle via RCA cables, and the Shuttle to the PC vie USB3 cable.

I can see that the Shuttle is connected to the PC with the Blackmagic Desktop Video app.

I have set the Video input to 'Component' in the app.

I then start the video playing in the VCR and get no input from the Blackmagic software, Premier Pro, or any other capture software that I can get my hands on.

Any ideas?

Thanks

Duane
Offline

lockhartgary

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Sun May 26, 2019 2:56 pm
  • Real Name: Gary Lockhart

Re: Intensity Shuttle help needed

PostMon Jul 22, 2019 8:52 pm

Assuming you are located in the USA:

Check the settings for the Desktop Video Utility (Video Output Section)and Media Express (Edit -> Preferences -> Project Video Format). I have mine set to NTSC for both applications. Both setting must match. Also, make sure you have the LOG AND CAPTURE tab selected in Media Express.

I know all of the above sounds elementary, but worth making sure of.
Offline

TassieDorn

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Tue Jul 02, 2019 7:34 am
  • Real Name: Duane Ellery

Re: Intensity Shuttle help needed

PostTue Jul 23, 2019 2:46 am

Thanks for the reply lockhartgary,

I am in Australia and have everything set to PAL and have the Log and Capture tab selected.

I agree, everything is works making sure of cause it may be something so simple....
Offline
User avatar

Xtreemtec

  • Posts: 3935
  • Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:48 am
  • Location: The Netherlands

Re: Intensity Shuttle help needed

PostTue Jul 23, 2019 8:34 am

Well you cant just capture a VHS.. While it does look kind of good on tv.. The capture hardware needs a rock stable video sync signal which VHS and any other tape does not provide. Search the forum for TBC (Time Base Corrector)
Daniel Wittenaar .:: Xtreemtec Media Productions ::. -= www.xtreemtec.nl =-
4K OBV Trailer, ATEM TVS HD, 4M/E Broadcast Studio 4K, Constelation 8K, Hyperdeck Studio 12G, Ursa Broadcast 4K, 4K fiber converters with Sony Control
Offline

TassieDorn

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Tue Jul 02, 2019 7:34 am
  • Real Name: Duane Ellery

Re: Intensity Shuttle help needed

PostTue Jul 23, 2019 10:22 pm

Hi Xtreemtec,

Should I be getting something through the Shuttle though? I am at the stage of thinking that the shuttle is faulty or I am doing something wrong.
Offline

Christian Paire

  • Posts: 33
  • Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2013 3:54 pm

Re: Intensity Shuttle help needed

PostWed Jul 24, 2019 8:14 am

hello, you should use composite not componant if your vhs out is composite
Offline

TassieDorn

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Tue Jul 02, 2019 7:34 am
  • Real Name: Duane Ellery

Re: Intensity Shuttle help needed

PostThu Jul 25, 2019 7:53 am

Thanks Christian,

I am now at least getting something through. Flashes, but it is better than it was.
Offline

ryclark

  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: Sat Jun 15, 2019 3:37 pm
  • Real Name: Richard Yeoman-Clark

Re: Intensity Shuttle help needed

PostThu Jul 25, 2019 11:05 am

As mentioned previously you will need some sort of TBC to make the conversion happen properly with the Shuttle I'm afraid.
Offline

louboulay

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Fri Jul 26, 2019 7:18 pm
  • Real Name: Louis Boulay

Re: Intensity Shuttle help needed

PostFri Jul 26, 2019 7:26 pm

hello I need help I install Avid MC 2019.7 with BM intensity Shuttle USB 3.0 when I open AVID I see that it is related to my BM at the top of my software but I have no image and sond tanks
Offline

Christian Paire

  • Posts: 33
  • Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2013 3:54 pm

Re: Intensity Shuttle help needed

PostSat Jul 27, 2019 9:22 am

Hello, you may find on ebay a rather cheap CYP CTB 100 time base corrector or any more robust TBC to stabilize signal ; you'll find many posts about this very problem on the forum
Offline

TassieDorn

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Tue Jul 02, 2019 7:34 am
  • Real Name: Duane Ellery

Re: Intensity Shuttle help needed

PostSun Jul 28, 2019 4:01 am

Thanks for the reply guys,

I have a TBC on the way and should be ready to go as soon as it arrives.

Thanks for the help
Offline

Greg_E

  • Posts: 259
  • Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2019 2:07 pm
  • Location: Central NY
  • Real Name: Greg Endler

Re: Intensity Shuttle help needed

PostSun Jul 28, 2019 3:54 pm

The other question might be, do these tapes have macrovision copy protection? I used to get the flashing when I was trying to deal with that, but a TBC usually fixes it.
Offline

TassieDorn

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Tue Jul 02, 2019 7:34 am
  • Real Name: Duane Ellery

Re: Intensity Shuttle help needed

PostMon Jul 29, 2019 2:06 am

These tapes don't have copy protection, they are home videos, but they are quite old, so tapes are not in the best condition.
Offline
User avatar

Xtreemtec

  • Posts: 3935
  • Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:48 am
  • Location: The Netherlands

Re: Intensity Shuttle help needed

PostMon Jul 29, 2019 10:23 am

Not great condition equals Sync is all over the place.. Hope your TBC is able to recover it properly.
Daniel Wittenaar .:: Xtreemtec Media Productions ::. -= www.xtreemtec.nl =-
4K OBV Trailer, ATEM TVS HD, 4M/E Broadcast Studio 4K, Constelation 8K, Hyperdeck Studio 12G, Ursa Broadcast 4K, 4K fiber converters with Sony Control
Offline

TassieDorn

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Tue Jul 02, 2019 7:34 am
  • Real Name: Duane Ellery

Re: Intensity Shuttle help needed

PostThu Aug 01, 2019 8:08 am

Thanks Xtreemtec

Return to Getting Started

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 7 guests