Blackmagic Video Assist 12G HDR record BMD Raw on GH5?

Getting started with a Blackmagic product? Ask questions here about setup and installation.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

johndaughtridge

  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2018 12:49 am
  • Real Name: John Daughtridge

Blackmagic Video Assist 12G HDR record BMD Raw on GH5?

PostFri Sep 13, 2019 12:17 pm

The new external recorder/view finder spec mentions recording to 3rd party cameras.

So far the supported cameras to write to BlackMagic Raw listed by Grant in his livestream are the C300 mark 2 and EVA1.

Any chance BMD Raw recording would work on a GH5 now or in the future?

Thanks!
Offline

Denny Smith

  • Posts: 11299
  • Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2013 4:19 pm
  • Location: USA, Northern Calif.

Re: Blackmagic Video Assist 12G HDR record BMD Raw on GH5?

PostSat Sep 14, 2019 1:33 am

No, the GH5 does not currently have an option to output a Raw. The only cameras being supported at this time are the Panasonic EVA1 and Canon C300 II, which output Raw from their SDI output. BRaw is a camera/sensor specific codec, unlike CDNG Raw.

The only mirrorless camera currently getting a Raw output via HDMI update is the Nikon Z6/7, which requires a hardware change to the camera.
Cheers
Denny Smith
SHA Productions
Offline

johndaughtridge

  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2018 12:49 am
  • Real Name: John Daughtridge

Re: Blackmagic Video Assist 12G HDR record BMD Raw on GH5?

PostMon Sep 23, 2019 6:21 pm

Thanks for the info - dang - was hoping to have a way to back into Braw :)
Offline

IsseSwe

  • Posts: 54
  • Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2018 7:16 am
  • Location: Stockholm Sweden
  • Real Name: Istvan Sandor

Re: Blackmagic Video Assist 12G HDR record BMD Raw on GH5?

PostTue Oct 01, 2019 3:09 pm

Danny, If I hook up my micro studio cam4k with the new video assist with braw, that would work right?
To get a braw recording.

The msc4k has sdi raw output as a feature, would the new VA 12G also be able to record in braw from that raw stream or is that only for computer? (I dont even get an image through my ATEM Television Studio Pro 4K when trying to use raw through SDI from msc4k
1 x ATEM Television Studio Pro 4K | 1 x Hyperdeck Studio Pro2 | 2 x Hyperdeck Studio 12G | 2 x Ultrastudio 4K | 1 x Smartscope Duo | 1 x Smartview 4K | 1 x Smart VideoHub | 3 x SC4K | 2 x MSC4K | 1 x PCC4K | 2 x Rushworks PTX Model1
Offline

Denny Smith

  • Posts: 11299
  • Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2013 4:19 pm
  • Location: USA, Northern Calif.

Re: Blackmagic Video Assist 12G HDR record BMD Raw on GH5?

PostTue Oct 01, 2019 4:06 pm

No, not at this time. The Raw output from the Micro Studio is not currently supported by any recorder, including the new VA 12G. The Braw recording feature has to be set for a specific camera, and only the previous two mentioned cameras are supported. Perhaps, after release, maybe BMD will add the Micro Studio, would be nice.
Cheers
Denny Smith
SHA Productions

Return to Getting Started

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests