Audio sync later?

The place for questions about shooting with Blackmagic Cameras.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

John Bartman

  • Posts: 351
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 3:15 pm

Audio sync later?

PostSat Jul 27, 2013 6:55 am

When using the BMCC, if one records audio separately onto an external recorder,
is there any way of later syncing with the cameras audio in Resolve?
Offline

David Sandberg

  • Posts: 143
  • Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2013 3:56 pm
  • Location: Los Angeles

Re: Audio sync later?

PostSat Jul 27, 2013 8:19 am

Yes:

I just finished a short where we synched everything like this in Resolve (with a clapperboard) and it worked out great.
Offline
User avatar

Joseph Ciccarella

  • Posts: 133
  • Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2013 4:30 pm
  • Location: Brooklyn, NY

Re: Audio sync later?

PostSat Jul 27, 2013 8:52 am

Also very easy to do in fcpx and then create compound clips. I'm pretty in love with compounding clips, I have to say, it sure has added some speed to my workflow.
Joseph Ciccarella
www.quietallaround.com
Offline
User avatar

Thomas Schumacher

  • Posts: 745
  • Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 11:14 pm
  • Location: Germany

Re: Audio sync later?

PostSat Jul 27, 2013 11:28 am

I use the standalone software Red Giant - DualEyes, worked for me in the last 3 years in 98% of all attempts, sometimes you need to load a wav and a mov seperately (usually I'll do it in a batch) if it doesn't sync all files. There's no alteration to the videofile, so no loss in quality.
https://www.gernemehrfilm.de/
Offline
User avatar

John Bartman

  • Posts: 351
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 3:15 pm

Re: Audio sync later?

PostSat Jul 27, 2013 11:54 am

Thanks for all replies, will do some tests.


A follow up question:

does DualEyes work with Resolve?
Offline
User avatar

rick.lang

  • Posts: 11647
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 5:41 pm
  • Location: Victoria BC Canada

Re: Audio sync later?

PostSat Jul 27, 2013 6:58 pm

John Bartman wrote:When using the BMCC, if one records audio separately onto an external recorder,
is there any way of later syncing with the cameras audio in Resolve?


John, John Brawley has posted previously as well as others, that you can send a timecode and guide tone (timecode to the right channel) of your BMCC audio inputs and Resolve will use that to match the timecode on your external audio. If your external recorder supports timecode output of course. Then no need I suppose for additional software.

Rick Lang
Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
Rick Lang
Offline

John Brawley

  • Posts: 2139
  • Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2012 7:57 am
  • Location: London UK

Re: Audio sync later?

PostSun Jul 28, 2013 12:55 am

I record LTC timecode to one of the audio tracks from a master clock like an Aaton GMT or an Ambient CLOCKIT.

In Resolve you can then read the TC on the audio track and treat that as the source TC. AVID also allows you to to treat Audio TC as an auxiliary TC source.

jb
John Brawley
Cinematographer
London UK
Offline

sambak

  • Posts: 93
  • Joined: Wed May 15, 2013 9:11 pm

Re: Audio sync later?

PostWed Sep 04, 2013 10:42 pm

rick.lang wrote:
John Bartman wrote:When using the BMCC, if one records audio separately onto an external recorder,
is there any way of later syncing with the cameras audio in Resolve?


John, John Brawley has posted previously as well as others, that you can send a timecode and guide tone (timecode to the right channel) of your BMCC audio inputs and Resolve will use that to match the timecode on your external audio. If your external recorder supports timecode output of course. Then no need I suppose for additional software.

Rick Lang
Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD



Hello Sir!
My Roland R26 does not output timecode.
I shoot Raw on my BMCC and record audio on R26.......
What is the workaround then? how can i sync my r26 audio with bmcc footage???

Very puzzled!! if you just shed some light on it.

thanx
Offline
User avatar

rick.lang

  • Posts: 11647
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 5:41 pm
  • Location: Victoria BC Canada

Re: Audio sync later?

PostThu Sep 05, 2013 12:32 am

sambak wrote:
rick.lang wrote:
John Bartman wrote:When using the BMCC, if one records audio separately onto an external recorder,
is there any way of later syncing with the cameras audio in Resolve?


John, John Brawley has posted previously as well as others, that you can send a timecode and guide tone (timecode to the right channel) of your BMCC audio inputs and Resolve will use that to match the timecode on your external audio. If your external recorder supports timecode output of course. Then no need I suppose for additional software.

Rick Lang
Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD



Hello Sir!
My Roland R26 does not output timecode.
I shoot Raw on my BMCC and record audio on R26.......
What is the workaround then? how can i sync my r26 audio with bmcc footage???

Very puzzled!! if you just shed some light on it.

thanx


sambak, did you see John Brawley's post just above your note. He uses Ambient CLOCKIT to send an LTC timecode to the camera audio input.

Rick Lang
Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
Rick Lang
Offline

MagicAndMayhem

  • Posts: 77
  • Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2013 5:16 pm
  • Location: Los Angeles, CA

Re: Audio sync later?

PostThu Sep 05, 2013 12:51 am

sambak wrote:
rick.lang wrote:
John Bartman wrote:When using the BMCC, if one records audio separately onto an external recorder,
is there any way of later syncing with the cameras audio in Resolve?


John, John Brawley has posted previously as well as others, that you can send a timecode and guide tone (timecode to the right channel) of your BMCC audio inputs and Resolve will use that to match the timecode on your external audio. If your external recorder supports timecode output of course. Then no need I suppose for additional software.

Rick Lang
Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD



Hello Sir!
My Roland R26 does not output timecode.
I shoot Raw on my BMCC and record audio on R26.......
What is the workaround then? how can i sync my r26 audio with bmcc footage???

Very puzzled!! if you just shed some light on it.

thanx


Typically you would use something like a 744t or 788t to be master timecode, jam it to the lockit, then connect the lockit to one of the audio inputs on your camera.

Since no master TC on the audio then maybe split the TC out and put one TC audio to one channel in the camera and one TC audio to one channel on your R26

After you sync it on your edit software timeline, be sure to turn that audio track off. The TC audio will wreck your ears.

This is a lockit box
http://www.ambient.de/en/products/ambie ... ecode.html

or you can use a clap. After you get your material into your editing software, turn waveforms on and line up the spike in the audio levels.

Return to Cinematography

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: narimangafurov, Robert Niessner and 32 guests