Is HDMI not working with fw 1.4 on Pocket?

The place for questions about shooting with Blackmagic Cameras.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

Peter Östlund

  • Posts: 277
  • Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2012 4:22 pm
  • Location: Sweden

Is HDMI not working with fw 1.4 on Pocket?

PostFri Aug 23, 2013 8:03 am

Trying the little gem out.
Just received the hdmi cable.
Conneced the Pocket to my monitor.
No picture displayed.
Have I missed something here?

thanks for advise

Peter
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 5094
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am

Re: Is HDMI not working with fw 1.4 on Pocket?

PostFri Aug 23, 2013 10:21 am

Could it be the same problem like on the BMCC? Try to switch off the overlays.
Resolve Studio and Fusion Studio
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM and 32 GB RAM
Mac mini 16 GB RAM plus eGFX Breakway Radeon RX 580
Offline
User avatar

Peter Östlund

  • Posts: 277
  • Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2012 4:22 pm
  • Location: Sweden

Re: Is HDMI not working with fw 1.4 on Pocket?

PostFri Aug 23, 2013 2:15 pm

There is a problem with the connection between the micro-hdmi port in the camera and the cable I am using. If I angle the contact I get a random connection.
The actual micro-hdmi contact is longer and is build for a deeper micro-hdmi port. I do not know if the contact on the cable is too long or the port to shallow. I do know this doesn't work for a professional set up. The length of the contact is approx 6 mm and the port seems to be approx 4 mm deep.
Are there different hdmi standards?

less happy

Peter
Offline
User avatar

Peter Östlund

  • Posts: 277
  • Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2012 4:22 pm
  • Location: Sweden

Re: Is HDMI not working with fw 1.4 on Pocket?

PostSat Aug 24, 2013 6:29 am

Update.
I have tried five different micro hdmi cables and none of them sticks all the way in. This makes the connection a little bit unsecure. However using a different brand of cable establish a reasonable connection without drop outs. It would have been much better if the port had been 2 mm deeper.
At least I now can use my viewfinder and external monitors.

Otherwise the camera seems to work very, very well.

A little bit happier

Peter
Offline
User avatar

Kevin Thompson

  • Posts: 91
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 4:49 am

Re: Is HDMI not working with fw 1.4 on Pocket?

PostSun Aug 25, 2013 6:22 am

Peter,

Can you confirm if the hdmi output is progressive or interlaced?

Kevin
BMD Products:
ATEM Television Studio, Micro Videohub, GPI&Tally
Hyperdeck Studio, Mini Monitor, Mini Recorder
HDMI->SDI Battery Converter (2)
SmartView HD, SmartScope Duo 4K
Ultrastudio 4K, Multidock, MFT BMCC
Offline
User avatar

Peter Östlund

  • Posts: 277
  • Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2012 4:22 pm
  • Location: Sweden

Re: Is HDMI not working with fw 1.4 on Pocket?

PostSun Aug 25, 2013 7:50 am

I suppose it has to be progressive since the camera only do progressive.
Is there a way to easily 100% confirm so please advise and I will check.
Offline

Steve Pierce

  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:05 am
  • Location: Oxford, UK

Re: Is HDMI not working with fw 1.4 on Pocket?

PostSat Sep 28, 2013 8:25 am

The port does appear to be too shallow, though it may have been designed this way to prevent damage to the camera if the micro-HDMI cable is bent.

For future versions of the camera, something similar to Atomos' proprietary locking mini-BNC connector on the original Samurai would be preferable. There may be licensing issues with this however, and a mini-SDI port would protrude from the camera, which may make the connector more likely to get damaged when thrown in a bag. It also kind of spoils the clean lines of the design.

On initial tests, an Atomos Samurai connected to the BMPCC via an Atomos HDMI-SDI battery converter dropped out every few seconds. Subsequent tests with a new cable (http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B0051YHVPM) were much better. I wiggled the micro-HDMI adapter cable quite a bit and didn't get a drop out, so I feel happier using it.

I now think using an external recorder for long-form event work is a viable option, but I would always want to be recording to SD card at the same time as a back-up.
Last edited by Steve Pierce on Sun Sep 29, 2013 11:01 am, edited 1 time in total.
Offline
User avatar

Badrulhisham Bahadzor

  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2013 9:23 am
  • Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Re: Is HDMI not working with fw 1.4 on Pocket?

PostSat Sep 28, 2013 8:32 am

I bought this and it works well with my SmallHD DP4 monitor.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/350729520841?ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1439.l2649
Badrulhisham Bahadzor
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Return to Cinematography

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Sean van Berlo and 18 guests