Audio VU levels

The place for questions about shooting with Blackmagic Cameras.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

rotorshawn

  • Posts: 16
  • Joined: Tue Jun 25, 2013 3:44 am
  • Location: Oregon

Audio VU levels

PostFri Sep 06, 2013 5:34 am

Is there any way (or will there be in the future) a way to monitor audio levels on the camera or via the SDI output, rather than just on a computer using UltraScope? Would be handy in the field... Thank You
Shawn
Helicopter Pilot and Video Guy (and Steadicam Operator, editor, etc...) (but gyrocopters are the BEST)
Offline

ChrisBarcellos

  • Posts: 329
  • Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2012 3:34 am

Re: Audio VU levels

PostFri Sep 06, 2013 5:29 pm

So far the only way I have seen is to get an SDI monitor that has VU meters on board.
Those appear to cost as much as the camera.
Offline

rotorshawn

  • Posts: 16
  • Joined: Tue Jun 25, 2013 3:44 am
  • Location: Oregon

Re: Audio VU levels

PostFri Sep 06, 2013 5:34 pm

That kind of stinks. It would be really nice if BlackMagic did an update where you had some VU meters on the screen, visible while shooting.... Or perhaps some 3rd party will create an update (ie Magic Lantern)
Shawn
Helicopter Pilot and Video Guy (and Steadicam Operator, editor, etc...) (but gyrocopters are the BEST)

Return to Cinematography

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: alexthevideoeditor, m.nick, pnguyen720 and 32 guests