Line on all footage with BlackMagic Cinema Camera

The place for questions about shooting with Blackmagic Cameras.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

bmcowner1

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Thu Sep 26, 2013 7:09 pm

Line on all footage with BlackMagic Cinema Camera

PostThu Sep 26, 2013 7:19 pm

I found out the hard way after going on a paid commercial shoot and bringing the footage home. The camera ruined my entire shoot and I am so upset. I brought it back home and ran a test on it to see if it was just a hair or something on the lens, but it's on all lenses I try so it's the camera that is bad. I used a lens blower to blow on the sensor lens and still it's there. Tried a light cloth on the sensor lens to see if it was dirt and it's still there.

Image

I've had the camera for about a few months now. How do I return it to get it fixed?
Offline

bmcowner1

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Thu Sep 26, 2013 7:09 pm

Re: Line on all footage with BlackMagic Cinema Camera

PostThu Sep 26, 2013 7:29 pm

The line is on the far right side of everything I shoot with the camera. It's around 1/3rd of the side on the far right. Comes out in the video footage of everything I shoot.

Another screenshot pic on the far right to see it better:
Image
Offline

Flat4

  • Posts: 59
  • Joined: Tue Jul 30, 2013 4:31 pm

Re: Line on all footage with BlackMagic Cinema Camera

PostThu Sep 26, 2013 8:45 pm

Oops, forgot to check the gate?

matthijsliethof

Re: Line on all footage with BlackMagic Cinema Camera

PostThu Sep 26, 2013 8:50 pm

Probably best to just send an email to support.

Sidenote: I just cringed at the visual image of a cloth on the sensor glass and the blower just blasting more dust at the sensor... Sensor swabs for me or maybe a arctic butterfly like John Brawley

Sent from my Android Phone
Offline
User avatar

Aaron Scheiner

  • Posts: 341
  • Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2012 1:57 pm
  • Location: Cape Town, South Africa

Re: Line on all footage with BlackMagic Cinema Camera

PostFri Sep 27, 2013 1:36 pm

Is the line always in the same place ? If so, can't you just remove it by cloning the lines next to it ? If the line is in the same x axis all the time removal would be almost unnoticeable.

You could automate the removal with some ffmpeg scripting...
Offline

Deborah S. Esquenazi

  • Posts: 15
  • Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2013 2:57 am

Re: Line on all footage with BlackMagic Cinema Camera

PostFri Sep 27, 2013 1:46 pm

Aaron Scheiner wrote:Is the line always in the same place ? If so, can't you just remove it by cloning the lines next to it ? If the line is in the same x axis all the time removal would be almost unnoticeable.

You could automate the removal with some ffmpeg scripting...


Agreed----was going to say the same thing. While not ideal, this is something you can also do in After Effects while you find a solution for your camera.
deborah s. esquenazi // austin, texas
Offline
User avatar

Aaron Scheiner

  • Posts: 341
  • Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2012 1:57 pm
  • Location: Cape Town, South Africa

Re: Line on all footage with BlackMagic Cinema Camera

PostFri Sep 27, 2013 2:03 pm

+1 to After Effects or even Premiere (crop crop crop).
Offline

Patrick Finnegan

  • Posts: 210
  • Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2012 11:43 pm
  • Location: Los Angeles, & Santa Fe, New Mexico

Re: Line on all footage with BlackMagic Cinema Camera

PostFri Sep 27, 2013 3:54 pm

you might try a sensor swab and the appropriate sensor cleaning fluid. I have had stubborn dust particles stick to my sensor in the past which would not come off with a dry swab but came clean with the fluid. I use a translucent photographic loop to inspect my sensor. Its amazing what you can see with it you often miss with a naked eye.
Finnegan's Wake Films
Director/ Cameraman

Return to Cinematography

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], MSN [Bot], neilmac and 35 guests