Pocket Camera questions - low light, green screen, lens, etc

The place for questions about shooting with Blackmagic Cameras.
  • Author

Insomniac

Pocket Camera questions - low light, green screen, lens, etc

PostTue Oct 01, 2013 11:53 am

Hello,

I'm new to cinematography, but not to making videos. I am a hobbyist who enjoys working on VFX/green screen/narrative projects of my own on weekends and capturing footage of my kids any day of the week.

Until now I've been using a several hundred dollar camcorder, the JVC Everio GZ-HM200, and the footage shot with the available light in our living room makes me want to cringe. It's so "noisy" (I think that's how you pros refer to looking like pixelated garbage), etc. that I can hardly bear to watch it. I'm tired of spending many hours using Adobe Premier, After Effects, etc. only to have the final product look lousy on account of the quality of the original footage, so I'm ready to step up to a "real" camera.

For starters, will the Black Magic Pocket Camera capture better footage with available light than the JVC I was using? A review site said this about the JVC's low light performance: "The camcorder required 29 lux of light to reach 50 IRE on our waveform monitor."

Also, am I correct that the ProRes footage the BMPC shoots will make it much easier to get a good key from the wrinkled piece of green cloth I've been using as a green screen? Should it get even better if/when the BMPC can shoot compressed RAW?

How about low light and green screen/vfx work as compared to a comparably priced DSLR? I understand the workflow with the BMPC may be a bit more involved than copying .mov files off a DSLR, but I'm prepared for that if the boon to low light and keying ability make it worth it.