Pocket Cinema RAW file looks like video

The place for questions about shooting with Blackmagic Cameras.
  • Author

Richard Burns

Pocket Cinema RAW file looks like video

PostFri Nov 15, 2013 10:34 pm

I'm new to this world.

I've been using the camera for a month. The ProRes file in film looks a low contrast and desaturated. Apply the lut in Davinci brings it to life.

Using the 1.5 firmware and Raw shooting. When I bring it in to Davinci, the footage looks like it was shot using the video mode.

Does this make sense?

Benjamin Klingebiel

Re: Pocket Cinema RAW file looks like video

PostFri Nov 15, 2013 11:09 pm

maybe the raw settings are in rec709 in davinci.... you ve to set it to film.

adamroberts

PostFri Nov 15, 2013 11:34 pm

You might want to watch Denver's Resolve tutorials:
http://www.colorgradingcentral.com/blac ... ial-series

It'll help you understand the workflow in Resolve.

RAW is not flat or colourful. It's in fact black and white. The de-beyer process is what gives it its colour and that process is all controlled from within the Camera RAW panel in Resolve.

Richard Burns

PostMon Nov 18, 2013 8:40 pm

I watched the tutorial. Very helpful. However, my original camera footage already looks like it has a rec709 color correction.

adamroberts

PostMon Nov 18, 2013 9:00 pm

RAW has no colour. It gets its colour when it's processed.

So either your project is set to process the RAW files as REC709 or your CameraRAW setting for the clip is set to process the RAW as REC709.

Chris Whitten

PostMon Nov 18, 2013 9:05 pm

When I import my raw footage into resolve even using CinemaDNG and BMD film settings there is visible colour, albeit low contrast, flat and very light. Any way I import pocket raw, the image never looks black and white.
Any raw resolve tutorial likewise (Hurkman etc) the imported files have light colour, never look like black and white. But also don't look video either.
Chris Whitten

Ben Ericson

PostMon Nov 18, 2013 9:08 pm