PL Lenses using PL to EF adapter?

The place for questions about shooting with Blackmagic Cameras.
  • Author

PL Lenses using PL to EF adapter?

PostTue Feb 27, 2024 12:29 am

Hi everyone,

I'm new to using PL lenses and a friend mentioned they're adaptable to various systems. After doing some research, I learned that using a PL to EF adapter might affect infinity focus, and I'm unsure how it would impact the measurement markings on the lens.

Question for experienced PL lens users: When purchasing a PL lens, do you need to ensure compatibility with your camera's specific PL mount, or are all PL mounts standardized?

Currently, do any of you use PL lenses that don't achieve infinity focus, and have you encountered issues with inaccurate measurement markings?

My goal: I want to use PL lenses on my various cameras, including the Red, Blackmagic, and Canon C300.

Seeking advice: What's the best approach for achieving this without removing the EF mount?

I'm considering DZO or NISI prime lenses.

Uli Plank

Re: PL Lenses using PL to EF adapter?

PostThu Feb 29, 2024 2:22 am

Not a good idea. EF mounts are notoriously bad regarding precision of their flange distance and the grip of the mount. They were developed for photography, where it doesn't matter much, not for film.

Pl mount was intended for film from the start. Even if you had true PL mounts on all your cameras, you'll need to have them all shimmed correctly and your lenses collimated for what you want to achieve.
Now that the cat #19 is out of the bag, test it as much as you can and use the subforum.

Studio 18.6.6, MacOS 13.6.6, 2017 iMac, 32 GB, Radeon Pro 580
MacBook M1 Pro, 16 GPU cores, 32 GB RAM and iPhone 15 Pro
Speed Editor, UltraStudio Monitor 3G

timbutt2

PostThu Feb 29, 2024 4:14 am

First: REMOVE THE EF MOUNT!!!