SDI output format

The place for questions about shooting with Blackmagic Cameras.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

info@maniacfilms.com

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Sun Apr 20, 2014 6:33 pm
  • Location: Devon, United Kingdom

SDI output format

PostSun Apr 20, 2014 6:44 pm

Hi
is there any spec for the 4K production camera SDI output in 1080 mode ? Or a list of monitors that it work with please ?
The 4K production camera output is supposed to be 6G SDI but there are no monitors for this standard yet (?) and i know of at least one manufacturer who say they wont support this signal for some time.

Our 4K camera SDI output works on our Tamuz broadcast monitor and on our Teradeck bolt but does not work on our Panasonic BT-LH80WE SDI field monitor. Panasonic couldn't help us and say this wont work - possibly the minimum spec needs to be 3G SDI ? Can anyone clarify please.
I'm not happy my trusty Panasonic SDI monitor can no longer be used for focus pulling, but most replacements are not particularly higher spec in terms of screen pixels so i would rather find out if any firmware fix coudld fix this before i shell out a lot of money for a new monitor...

thanks
Mark
Offline
User avatar

Chris Hocking

  • Posts: 659
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 4:23 am
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: SDI output format

PostTue Apr 22, 2014 12:06 am

The Blackmagic Production Camera 4K supports 6G-SDI, outputting uncompressed 10-bit 4:2:2 video, so it can be used to connect to any SDI monitor as well as 4K switchers such as ATEM Production Studio 4K.

SDI is inherently backwards compatible, so even though the camera has a 6G-SDI output, it should work fine with any HD-SDI input device.

If you have the SDI Output set to HD, and have selected to record in 25 or 29.97 fps with the SDI overlays to Off, the SDI output will be set to 1080i50 and 1080i59.94 respectively.
Offline
User avatar

info@maniacfilms.com

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Sun Apr 20, 2014 6:33 pm
  • Location: Devon, United Kingdom

Re: SDI output format

PostTue Apr 22, 2014 12:05 pm

Hi Chris
we just tested the camera output to a Samauri recorder as this shows up the output format better and its showing 1080p25 and not 1080i50 when set to 25 fps. I also have a Terranex 2D which should work ok but havent plugged it into that yet.

when the BMC 4k is set to 24p the output shows as 1080p24
when set to 30 fps it shows 1080p30
and when set to 29.97 it shows 1080p29.97 rather then 1080i59.94

Our Panasonic monitor does not support any of these signals but does support 1080i50 and 1080i59.94, 24psf and 29.98psf.

Is this something that could/would be changed in firmware to send out what you suggested was being sent out ie 1080i50 and 1080i59.94 etc ? or does anyone know of some kind of mini convertor that will go from 1080p25 to 1080i50 or 23.98/24p to 23.98spf/24psf ?

thanks
mark
Offline
User avatar

Chris Hocking

  • Posts: 659
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 4:23 am
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: SDI output format

PostThu Apr 24, 2014 4:27 am

Hi Mark,

You're right - I just tested the BMP4K with 1.7 firmware, and regardless of overlay setting you use, if you're set to 25fps, it outputs 1080p25 - NOT 1080i50.

Peter J. DeCrescenzo actually noted this a while back.

It's definitely a bug - so hopefully BMD fix it with the next release.

In the meantime, you could use something like this:

http://www.decimator.com/Products/MD-DUCC/MD-DUCC.html

Chris!

Return to Cinematography

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 15 guests