Tascam DR-05 + BMPCC

The place for questions about shooting with Blackmagic Cameras.
  • Author

Justin Battle

Tascam DR-05 + BMPCC

PostThu Oct 30, 2014 6:16 pm

I want to record audio (documentary) in the DR-05 directly into the BMPCC...how would I do that? Total newb question, but I never thought about going this route until now. And would you guys even recommend it since the audio quality in the BMPCC is so sh*t?

Tyler Edwards

Re: Tascam DR-05 + BMPCC

PostThu Oct 30, 2014 6:27 pm

You can run a simple 3.5mm cable from the line out port of the DR-05 to the mic input of the BMPCC.

Mattias Burling (fellow forum member) has a great video on this. He is using a Zoom H1, but the same concept applies.

www.youtube.com/tylerfedwards

Rakesh Malik

PostThu Oct 30, 2014 6:30 pm

With a good preamp, the BMPCC audio quality is decent. Not great, but it's serviceable. Adequate for interview dialog, at any rate.

All you'll have to do is run a regular stereo cable from the line out on the Tascam to the mic jack on the BMPCC. Set the record level fairly low and use the line setting, and adjust gain on the Tascam rather than on the BMPCC to get the signal to a good level. I've used that approach and it's worked pretty well for me. It sounds about as good as a Zoom h4n if you set your levels right.
Rakesh Malik
Cinematographer, photographer, adventurer, martial artist
http://WinterLight.studio
System:
Asus Flow X13, Octacore Zen3/32GB + XG Mobile nVidia RTX 3080/16GB
Apple M1 Mini/16GB

Justin Battle

PostThu Oct 30, 2014 6:46 pm

Awesome. Thanks!

Tyler Edwards

PostFri Oct 31, 2014 12:16 pm

Rakesh Malik wrote:With a good preamp, the BMPCC audio quality is decent. Not great, but it's serviceable. Adequate for interview dialog, at any rate.