Tips on making a short doc?

The place for questions about shooting with Blackmagic Cameras.
  • Author

josephrose

Tips on making a short doc?

PostWed Nov 18, 2015 6:57 pm

I've started shooting a documentary about an artist friend of mine (a printmaker). I'm shooting on the Pocket Camera.

I'm just looking for any tips as I've never done a project like this before. It can't hurt to get some input. I've gone in around the start of a big project in order to document the process of that, but the "story" doesn't need to be the creation of this one piece. I haven't actually decided on what the story will be, if there really is a story, exactly.

Jason R. Johnston

Re: Tips on making a short doc?

PostWed Nov 18, 2015 8:56 pm

Best tip I can think of is you should allow the project to grow organically. If the project feels like it naturally wants to tell this story or that story then allow it to go in that direction. You can try too hard to control a project and it will feel robotic. But, if you allow the project to find it's own path it's a lot easier to focus the story it wants to tell. You'll know it's the right story because it'll feel right.

You can go into it wanting it to look a certain way or to have a certain something to say, but it doesn't have to say anything if it doesn't want to. The viewer will watch and be their own judge, or your project can be decidedly about something and you want to prove your point and move the viewer to agree with you. But if you are at a point now where you don't know what the story is, then it will come to you during the interview process. Then you can start turning the way the docu goes in that direction by engaging the interviewees with appropriate questions and conversations and editing the film in a certain way to support those ideas.